University of Illinois at Springfield UIS Home Page Search UIS
Norris L Brookens Library


 

Library Research for Women's Studies

My name is Denise Green, green.denise@uis.edu is my email address, 217-206-6644 office phone and Brookens Library Room 234 is my office.

I am the Women's Studies liaison librarian. Please contact me with questions, comments and requests. I'm here to help. Let's talk about library research in Women's Studies (WMS). Often in WMS research you will need a variety of resources about women, about gender as a concept, possibly about the history of women’s rights and the status of women in other countries. Start your research early! Research always takes me more time than I think it will. Find a focus or a topic that works for you isn't too broad or too narrow.

Leave yourself enough time to carefully read and evaluate the resources you find. Plan for time to write and re-write your assignments.

 

How to Find Books and Videos

Click on PrairieCat, the Library Book Catalog This will connect you to the UIS and statewide catalog "PrairieCat". "PrairieCat" is the catalog of library materials by author, title or subject.  

Look up a subject like Women in Politics or Women--history or Feminism etc. You can also do a subject search for a country such as Mexico or Canada, etc.

Go to "Guided Keyword Search" to do a combination search, for example Mexico and women (both as title words) would look for books and other library materials that had both Mexico and women in the title of the book.

I-cards: Your library card at UIS is your I-card. If you come to Springfield to our library you need an I-card to check out books. You can also use your I-card to borrow books from any Illinois library belonging to the I-Share consortium. Some of you will live closer to one of these “sister” libraries than to UIS. You can use them for books especially if you live closer to Millikin University, Decatur, U of I Urbana-Champaign, Bradley University in Peoria or one of the Chicago area libraries or any I-Share library.

If you make special arrangements with me, we can mail you books from UIS Brookens Library collection to your home. You will be responsible for mailing them back. Send me an email message or call me to make special arrangements.

 

How to Find Magazines, Newspapers, Scholarly Journals and other Periodicals

There are many indexes to periodicals. Go to Brookens Library page http://library.uis.edu/findinfo/articles/ and select a subject menu. Select a database to use. If you are queried for a NetID (probably the same as your Blackboard login).

Go to http://www.uis.edu/cts/techsupport/passwords.html for more info on how to change your NetID password. Or contact the Technology Support Center at 217-206-7357 or toll free at 1-877-847-0443 or email them at TechSupport@uis.edu.

“Find Articles” will lead you to various databases that index journals and magazines. Some good ones to start with are:

  • FirstSearch - Once connected, click on “ Databases List All" and look over the list of databases. PerAbs - Periodical Abstracts is an excellent general index to magazines and journals. For women in business topics try "ABI Inform." Some of these databases have the fulltext of the periodical article for you to view, print or email
  • InfoTrac Expanded Academic ASAP - If asked for a password, enter NetID and its password. Many of the articles indexed in InfoTrac have the fulltext from the magazine or journal for you to view, print or email.
  • JSTOR- Scholarly Journal archive -Look over the menu of subject areas for JSTOR journals. If asked for a password, enter NetID and its password. An excellent source for key journals in a variety of disciplines in full text PDF files.
  • Project MUSE -- full text access to 170 core humanities and social science journals from over 50 academic and association publishers. Start date depends on the journal, but most start around 1998, through the latest issue. Also includes indexing/abstracting for another 130 journals.
  • Others to try include ERIC, an excellent index to education journals and reports. PsycINFO indexes hundreds of Psychology journals and books. MLA International Bibliography (from the Modern Language Association) indexes journals in literature and language studies including articles about women in literature or famous women authors.
  • Science Direct  - lots of social science, gender studies and Women's studies related journals. 
  • Contemporary Women’s Issues
    Although UIS does not have a current subscription to the database Contemporary Women’s Issues, a considerable amount of its content can be accessed through Lexis-Nexis Academic and also OCLC FirstSearch.  The WSS of ACRL has developed guides for accessing CWI via these databases:
    http://libr.org/wss/projects/databases/cwi_lexis.pdf
    http://libr.org/wss/projects/databases/cwi_oclc_firstsearch.pdf  

Send techsupport@uis.edu an email message if your Net ID doesn’t work.

 

Key Journals

All on Third level Brookens Library and also available in many other college libraries.

  • Scholarly Journals

Advances in Gender Research (abstracts only)

Feminist Issues HQ 1101.F44

Feminist Studies HQ 1101.F46

Frontiers HQ 1101.F76

Hypatia HQ 1101.H88

Journal of Homosexuality HQ 75.J68

Journal of Lesbian Studies HQ 75 .J69

Journal of Women’s History HQ 1101.J68

Psychology of Women Quarterly HQ 1206.P76

Reproductive Health Matters   * (1993-2002)

Sex Roles HQ 768.S4

Signs HQ 1101.S5

Sojourner HQ 1402.S64

Women & Criminal Justice HQ 1233.W64

Women & Health RA 778.A1 W64

Women & Politics HQ 1236.W63

Women & Therapy RC 451.4 W6 W637

Women’s Rights Law Reporter KF 478.A45 W6

Women’s Studies HQ 1101.W77

Women’s Studies International Forum HQ 1101.W77501

Women’s Studies Quarterly HQ 1180.W6701

In addition, the following journals in Science Direct have an abundance of scholarship with a focus on WS, feminism & gender:
 
Body Image (2004 – present)
Aggression and Violent Behavior (1996 – present)
Political Geography (1992 – present)
International Journal of the Sociology of Law (1995 – present)
Journal of Aging Studies (1987-present)
World Development (1973 – present)
Journal of Historical Geography (1995 – present)
Social Science & Medicine (1979 – present)

  • Popular Magazines

Media Report to Women HQ 1402.M44

Ms. Magazine HQ 1101.M5501

Off Our Backs HQ 1101.O34

WIN: Women’s International Network News HQ 1101.W653

Working Woman HQ 1101.W78

 

Women and Gender Studies Free Web Sites

http://libr.org/wss/wwslinks/index.html

Recommended valuable web resources such as feminist directories, search engines, woman's global organizations, diversity perspectives, links to archival collections and subject areas.

 

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan or ILL for short is available for online students. Interlibrary Loan is when the library gets you a specific book or journal article that the library doesn't own. You can borrow books through PrairieCat at http://library.ilcso.illinois.edu/uc in most cases. For journal articles check first to see if UIS owns the periodical or the full text directory at http://sfx.carli.illinois.edu/sfxuis/a-z.

To get started with ILL go to http://library.uis.edu/aboutus/circulation/ill/forms/index.html and read the instructions carefully while filling out the forms. Have your I-card ready, you will need the library # on the card to fill out the ILL forms. Send me an email or call if you need special arrangements for ILL items to be delivered to your home.

 

Effective Research Tips

Women's studies research is always interdisciplinary. A study of women in Brazil for example would probably require you read about Brazilian economics, politics, history, education, health care, religion, social life, etc. in order to get a picture of women's lives in Brazil. You might want to read about famous women from Brazil or how the lives of women in the cities are different from rural and indigenous Brazilian women. Start your research early and cast a broad net while you are looking.

Most resources about Women's Studies are in the HQ call number area in the Library of Congress System, which is the system used by UIS Brookens Library. If you use a library that uses the Dewey Decimal System, then books about Women's Studies are mainly in 305.4 call number areas.

But you will find resources in many other call number areas. For example, books about women in Brazil include Women in Brazil: Problems and Perspectives by June E. Hahner (Call number HQ1542 .H33 1984) and Emancipating the Female Sex: The Struggle for Women's Rights in Brazil, 1850-1940 (Call number HQ1236.5.B6 H34 1990.)

However this book Women and Their Right to a Health Policy edited by J. A. Pinotti and A. Faúndes is classified with the medical books in RA564.85 .W656 and is about women's health in Brazil. Similarly Blessed Anastácia: Women, Race, and Popular Christianity in Brazil by John Burdick is in the religion section at BR675 .B87 1998 and not in the Women's Studies or South American Studies areas.

If you haven’t already, please go back to look up some books or journal articles related to your topic or to Women’s Studies in general.

For problems with NetIDs/User Names or EZProxy logins contact the Technology Support Center at 217-206-7357 or toll free at 1-877-847-0443 or email them at techsupport@uis.edu

If you need assistance, please ask! Contact:

Denise Green , Associate Professor/Instructional Services Librarian
E-mail: green.denise@uis.edu
Phone: 217-206-6644 (office) or 217-206-6633 (Information Desk)

 

Text Only | About Us | Research | Need Help? | Quick Links | Site Index | Home


Last updated October 5, 2006 | Created by Library Web Committee - Comments? Questions? Please e-mail libweb@uis.edu
Brookens Library - University of Illinois at Springfield, One University Plaza, MS BRK 140, Springfield, Illinois 62703-5407