University of Illinois at Springfield UIS Home Page Search UIS
Norris L Brookens Library
 


 

Library Research for Teacher Education
Greetings! My name is Pamela M. Salela. I'm an assistant professor, instructional services librarian. This website is designed to give you information you'll find useful for teacher education, in particular finding lesson plans. If you have any questions or concerns, please contact me:

Pamela M. Salela
E-mail: psale2@uis.edu
Phone: 217-206-6783, or call the Information Desk at 217-206-6633

Locating Books & Other Materials | Lesson Plans & Articles | Locating Full Text Articles | Lesson Plans on the Web | Other Useful Web Sites

Locating Books and Other Materials

Connect to PrairieCat Library Book Catalog. Through the catalog you can locate items that are owned by Brooken's Library as well as other libraries in the I-Share system.

  • Quick Search will locate your words in the highlighted field
  • Guided keyword searching will locate ALL of your words in the
    indicated fields
  • Advanced features: Limits, histories
  • subject browsing can be a very effective way of locating good materials. Some
    useful subject terms would be: science study and teaching, mathematics study
    and teaching, science teachers, mathematics teachers..

NetLibrary (e-books)
Here you will find a collection of books that are completely full text online. By using resources like netLibrary instead of doing an internet search, you are assured of scholarly and quality reading material. If you decide you want to check out a book , you will have to create a user login and password . There is no fee for this, as you already have access privileges by virtue of being a UIS student.

netLibrary also includes a very useful Reference Center . You can find a link to the Reference Center in the lower portion of the netLibrary homepage.

NetLibrary Reference Center

Some useful reference titles for students in teacher education include:

Lesson Plans & Articles

Educator's Desk Reference
Lesson plans, resource guides and more.

Education Resources Information Center (ERIC)
(access via U.S. Dept. of Education)
1966 - present
ERIC ( Education Resources Information Center ) provides access to education-related journal and non-journal literature. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, it provides full citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, curriculum materials, government documents, dissertations, reports, and other educational materials. To get quick and accurate results, use the ERIC thesaurus. (Alternate interfaces/platforms for ERIC: ERIC via EBSCOhost, ERIC via FirstSearch, and ERIC via IBIS/Ovid.)

MAS Ultra School Edition
Aimed at high school students, offers full text of over 500 popular and news magazines at the high school reading level; also includes access to over 250 reference books and 75,000 primary documents

Locating Full Text Articles

Journals @ UIS -- Find a Journal or Magazine by Title
This database is searchable and will lead you to articles in full text, if they are available to UIS.

Lesson Plans on the Web

Awesome Library: K-12 Education Materials

Blue Web'n Learning Sites Library

EPA EnviroKids grades 4-6

ESPN SportsFigures

GEM: Gateway to Education Materials

Lesson Plans Library

Lesson Plans Page

Project WILD
Hands on environmental education for K-12.

TeachSPACE: Space Science Lessons & Student Activities

Teachable Moment: Topical Activities for the K-12 Classroom

Teachers Domain
Multimedia K-12 resources

Wild Ones Teacher Connection

Other Useful Web Sites

U.S. Department of Education

Illinois State Board of Education

Text Only | About Us |Research| Need Help? | Quick Links | Site Index | Home


Last updated September 6, 2007 | Created by Library Web Committee - Comments? Questions? Please e-mail libweb@uis.edu
Brookens Library - University of Illinois at Springfield, One University Plaza, MS BRK 140, Springfield, Illinois 62703-5407