|
This website is designed to give you information on a number
of resources to use for finding information for public policy issues.
Summary of Useful Resources
| Locating the Full Text of an Article | Tracing Legislation | Questions?
Summary of Most Useful Resources
For a few recent articles from both magazines and scholarly journals, try:
- Academic
Search Elite -- full text articles from around 4,500 magazines and journals and indexing for around 8,000 periodicals total
- Expanded
Academic ASAP -- full text articles from around
1,000 magazines and journals, with citations from another
500 sources
For a more comprehensive search for journal articles, try:
- PAIS
International - Public Affairs Information Service -- indexes
articles from around 1,600 periodicals, and thousands of
government reports a year from an international perspective
back to 1972
- Social Sciences Citation Index -- indexes and analyzes citations for relevant scholarly journals from 1,725 journals cover to cover, and another 3,300 journals selectively back to 1987; can sort results by number of times cited to locate key articles
- Worldwide
Political Science Abstracts -- indexes articles from
over 1,200 journals, as well as books, book chapters, and
dissertations on all political science subjects back to
1975
I would also suggest trying the subject-specific database that relates to your issue, such as ERIC for educational issues, MEDLINE for medical issues, etc. Go to Find Articles to see all of our databases arranged by subjects covered.
For news coverage, try:
- Chicago Tribune Newsbank -- full text articles from the Chicago Tribune, back to 1985
- LexisNexis Academic -- full text articles from major newspapers from around the world; covers 10 Illinois newspapers including Sun-Times & SJ-R; also covers magazines and law reviews, but newspaper articles is it's strength
- Newsdex -- selected citations (no full text) to the State-Journal Register & Illinois Times back to 1980; defaulted to an author search, so change to Newspaper General Keyword to search the entire record.
Other Useful Sources
- CBO Analysis -- Congressional Budget Office does financial analysis of every bill
- CQ Researcher -- full text articles from this magazine back to October 1991; each weekly issue covers one current event or policy issue of around 20-30 pages in length [more info]
- GAO Reports (1975-present) -- financial analysis reports on all aspects of government from the Government Accountability Office (GAO).
Locating the Full Text of an Article
Go to the Journals @ UIS to see if your periodical is
- available full text, or
- owned in print or microfilm by us.
Type in the name of the journal, magazine or newspaper and click the search button.
If we have it full text access, the databases will be listed under the heading Full Text. You can either plug in the citation information for the article you want, or just click on the GO button to jump to that database and browse or keyword search for your article.
Print or microfilm holdings are listed under the Holding Information heading. If it's a print subscription, note the call number and the format for the year you need. (If it doesn't indicate a format, then it's in print, versus microfilm.)
All it says is "Holdings in I-Share."
This is Journals @ UIS's way of saying "journal not found at UIS." If we do not own/have access to the article you want, fill out the Interlibrary Loan form and we'll mail you a copy of the article. Please allow 1-3 weeks.
Tracing Legislation
Below are guides to sources for tracing federal and state legislation from a bill to a law, or doing legislative histories.
|