|
We subscribe to over 90 different databases for locating articles -- clearly you don't want to search all of them! Each one has particular strengths and weaknesses. Here are some suggestions to which databases to use, depending on what specifically you are looking for: scholarly journal articles from a political science, international relations or historical perspective; law review articles from a legal perspective; or news coverage.
You may search virtually all of our databases off-campus. You will be prompted for your NetID and password. (This is the same as your UIS email/Blackboard/Enterprise ID login and password.) For technical assistance with your NetID, students may contact the UIS Technology Support Center at 217-206-7357 or toll-free within Illinois at 1-877-847-0443.
For more detailed advice on searching databases, see Phrasing a Search Query. I want some recent articles on my issue, from either scholarly journals, law reviews or news magazines.
Academic Search Premier -- full text articles from around 4,500 magazines and journals and indexing for around 8,000 periodicals total; covers the most journals and magazines. You can easily limit to scholarly journals, and around half the time the entire article is available full text. If the article isn't available full text right there, click on the button. This will automatically search our Journals @ UIS database to see if we have it full text in another database, or if we have a physical subscription to the journal.
Expanded Academic ASAP -- full text articles from around 1,000 magazines and journals, with citations from another 500 sources; fewer records, but more consistent subject headings than Academic Search Premier. You can easily limit to scholarly journals, and around half the time the entire article is available full text. If the article isn't available full text right there, click on the link Find it?. This will automatically search our Journals @ UIS database to see if we have it full text in another database, or if we have a physical subscription to the journal.
I want some articles from core scholarly journals.
JSTOR -- full text articles from 28 core political science journals and 40 history journals, including American Journal of International Law, International Organization, and Journal of Military History. Coverage extends from the first issue up to 3-5 years ago. Click Search to keyword search the entire full text of all 200+ journals. But it's better if you change to the Advanced Search page, where you can easily limit to particular journals, as well as limit your keywords to the title of the articles.
Project MUSE -- full text access to 170 core humanities and social science journals. 26 history and 26 political science titles, including Human Rights Quarterly. Start date depends on the journal, but most start around 1998 (or wherever JSTOR stops) through the latest issue. Also includes indexing/abstracting for another 130 journals.
I want to do a more comprehensive search for scholarly journal articles. PAIS International - Public Affairs Information Service -- indexes articles from around 1,600 periodicals, and thousands of government reports a year from an international perspective back to 1972. Click on the button to locate the entire article. This will automatically search our Journals @ UIS database to see if we have it full text in another database, or if we have a physical subscription to the journal.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts -- indexes articles from over 1,200 journals, as well as books, book chapters, and dissertations on all political science subjects back to 1975. Click on the button to locate the entire article. This will automatically search our Journals @ UIS database to see if we have it full text in another database, or if we have a physical subscription to the journal. I want to find law reviews, or detailed analysis from a legal perspective.
LexisNexis Academic -- click on Legal Research on the left hand side of the screen, then click on Law Reviews keyword search over 675 law reviews. Core titles go back to around 1982, while others start in the mid to late 1990s. I would suggest doing a Guided Search -- you can then limit part or all of your search to the title of the article, rather than the entire text of the law review.
Westlaw's Campus Research -- full text articles from over 750 law reviews and journals, back to 1994. You can search all of them, or narrow to a particular state. I want to find the key scholarly articles on my topic.
Web of Science: Social Sciences Citation Index -- indexes and analyzes citations (so one can figure out who is citing whom in their research) for relevant scholarly journals from 1,725 journals cover to cover, and another 3,300 journals selectively back to 1987. You may sort the result list by "times cited." (This option is at the top right of the search results screen in Web of Science.) To locate the entire article, either click on the button, or if it is in ScienceDirect, there will be a button. I want to find news coverage at the time of the event.
LexisNexis Academic -- full text articles from major newspapers from around the world, as well as major news magazines. However the start date is usually the mid 1990s, except for a few major sources: the New York Times goes back to 1980, the Washington Post back to 1987, and Newsweek back to 1975. Don't use the Quick News Search, which is the default, because it only goes back 2 years. Instead click on the tab Guided News Search and choose what subset of the database you want to search: General News, World News, etc.
For older news articles, you'll have to use print indexes and our microfilm collection. If you want to browse a particular date, we have the New York Times back to 1857 in microfilm [AP 2. N66f]. Or it might be worth your while to travel to UIUC or Bradley University and use their online version of the Historical New York Times.
I have citations to articles. Now what?
Go to the Journals @ UIS to see if your periodical is:
- available full text, or
- owned in print or microfilm by us.
Type in the name of the journal, magazine or newspaper and click the search button.
If we have it full text access, the databases will be listed under the heading Full Text. You can either plug in the citation information for the article you want, or just click on the GO button to jump to that database and browse or keyword search for your article.
Print or microfilm holdings are listed under the Holding Information heading. If it's a print subscription, note the call number and the format for the year you need. (If it doesn't indicate a format, then it's in print, versus microfilm.)
All it says is "Holdings in I-Share."
This is Journals @ UIS's way of saying "journal not found at UIS." If we do not own/have access to the article you want, fill out the Interlibrary Loan form and we'll mail you a copy of the article. Please allow 1-3 weeks.
|