| You may search virtually all of
our databases off-campus. For most, you will be prompted for
your NetID and password. (This is the same as your UIS email
login and password.)
For technical assistance with your NetID, students may contact
the UIS Technology Support Center at 217-206-7357 or toll-free
within Illinois at 1-877-847-0443.
Choose Database | Phrasing
a Query | I have a citation. Now what?
Choose a Database
You are not going to want to search all 100+ databases that
we subscribe to. Instead you are going to want to consider
the scope and coverage of individual databases to determine
which ones suit your needs. The databases are arranged by
subject on our Find
Articles page, as well as a list
of databases alphabetically.
But in general, databases fall into one of three categories:
General/Interdisciplinary Databases
Databases such as Academic
Search Elite, Expanded
Academic ASAP, Periodical
Abstracts, and WilsonSelectPlus
all offer access to a broad range of both magazine and journal
articles. Use these databases for news articles or information
aimed at the general public.
Advantages:
- All of the databases offer some to all of the articles
indexed in their entirety, a.k.a. in full text. Whether
a particular article is available full text has no bearing
on its quality. Some publishers sell the rights to the articles
to virtually all databases, some sell only to a particular
database, and some won't sell the rights at all.
- You can pick up articles from a wide variety of disciplines
in the general databases, which may offer very different
perspectives to the same topic, depending on what your topic
is.
- The core news magazines and scholarly journals are almost
always present in the general databases, though they may
just be indexed and not presented in full text format.
Disadvantages:
- There usually aren't very many limiters you can utilize.
The producers of the general database aren't going to analyze
the article to the depth of telling you if it is a review
article, a research article, etc.
- The citations are limited to periodicals. Relevant books
or chapters from books won't be included.
- Subject headings vary in quality and consistency, and
they don't offer much depth for a particular discipline.
- The number of periodicals indexed is rather shallow if
compared to a subject-specific database. Academic
Search Elite indexes around 3,200 periodicals, of which
around 1,700 are peer-reviewed journals on all subjects,
of which around 325 of the titles are political science
magazines or journals. In contrast, Worldwide
Political Science Abstracts indexes around 1,200 journals.
Subject-Specific Databases
On the opposite end of the spectrum there are subject-specific
databases.
Advantages:
- Tailored to a particular discipline: economics (EconLit);
political science (Worldwide
Political Science Abstracts); public policy (PAIS);
sociology (Sociological
Abstracts); U.S. history (America:
History and Life); etc.
- Usually attempts to be comprehensive, indexing as many
relevant journals and other sources as possible for that
discipline.
- Indexing itself usually attempts to offer depth: sophisticated
subject headings, descriptions of what kind of article it
is (review, research, clinical trial, etc.), who the audience
is for the article. And therefore the database interfaces
offer lots of different ways of limiting your search.
- Usually doesn't just index journal articles, but includes
other useful sources like dissertations, books and the chapters
within books, and sometimes papers presented at conferences.
- They usually include historical coverage, since most go
back to the mid 1960s.
Disadvantages:
- Though there are exceptions, there usually are no full
text articles available. All you get is a citation and most
of the time a summary of the source.
- You can easily be overwhelmed by the number of results
if you type in general words. You will need to be fairly
specific in what you are looking for.
- The comprehensiveness of the database means you will pull
up citations from some obscure journals and other resources
that may prove difficult to actually get your hands on,
as well as on materials in other languages.
Citation Databases
There's another series of databases that cover broad categories
as well: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science
Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index.
All of them are produced by the ISI or Institute for Scientific
Information and available in the database called Web
of Science. These citation indexes are much more comprehensive
than the Wilson ones in terms of the number of journals indexed.
However, the articles are not analyzed and given subject headings
and abstracted by the index producers. (If there is a summary
of the article and keywords given, they were in the original
article and the producers just copied that information.) Instead
the index analyzes the citations within the article, so one
can figure out who is citing whom in their research.
Advantages:
- Very large collection of scholarly journals included in
the indexing.
- They are the only source that analyzes the citations.
Can sort the results list by number of times cited, so the
articles that are the most popular rise to the top.
- The databases do some analysis of the type of article
(book review, editorial, news item, etc.). One can't tell
what type of research article it is, but one can at least
eliminate those things that aren't research articles.
- You can view the citations themselves in brief format.
If there's a record for the particular citation, it will
be hyperlinked.
- Wonderful source for finding scholarly book reviews.
Disadvantages:
- There usually are no full text articles. (There will be
a link to the full text if available in the database ScienceDirect.)
- Online version only goes back to 1987. We have Arts
& Humanities Citation Index and Social Sciences
Citation Index in print back to the 1970s, but we don't
have Science Citation Index in print. (Note: Print
version extremely difficult to use; not intuitive at all.)
- Many times there is no abstract or descriptors for the
article. The indexers have not created consistent subject
headings. All you get is the title of the article, author(s),
and where it's published. Which means that your keywords
will probably have to be in the title of the article in
order for a relevant record to appear. Sometimes this works
fine for the social sciences, and other types not, depending
on the whims of the authors.
So What Should I Use?
What kind of database you want to use depends on what kind
of research you want to do.
I just need a few recent articles on my topic.
Try a general/interdisciplinary database that has some
full text articles. I recommend Academic
Search Elite and Expanded
Academic ASAP. Expanded
Academic ASAP has better subject headings, but Academic
Search Elite covers more journals.
I want to do a comprehensive search for articles on my
topic.
Try one or more subject-specific database. You should be
able to research back to the 1960s and hundreds to thousands
of sources are included. Certainly try Worldwide
Political Science Abstracts, as well as PAIS
and America:
History and Life for most topics, but you may have to
use some other ones if you are interested in an issue from
a particular perspective, such as economic, education, etc.
I want to find the key articles on my topic.
Try Web
of Science and sort the result list by "times cited."
(This option is at the top right of the search results screen
in Web of Science.)
I want to find news coverage of an issue.
LexisNexis
Academic is the largest database we have for full text
newspaper and newsmagazine articles. If you just want Illinois
news articles, try a subset of LexisNexis
Academic, or Chicago
Tribune, or Newsdex.
You might also want to try Illinois
Issues [print JK5701.I47, in REF and Level 3], a monthly
magazine on state politics from UIS.
Phrasing a Search Query
When looking for articles, you will want to be more specific
than you were for finding books. Articles tend to be on narrow
topics, and there are usually summaries of the articles in
the citations, or even the entire article. If you look for
a general topic, you will probably be overwhelmed with results.
Boil down your issue into keywords. - Think of synonyms
for your keywords. I'd suggest sticking to the nouns and ignoring
verbs and adjectives. (For instance, there are just way too
many words to describe the abstract concept of "good.")
Truncate or stem your keywords. - You can usually
just type the root of a word followed by an asterisk (*) to
find all the variations of your terms. (Note: the truncation
symbol varies from database to database. Most use a *, but
some use an !, or a ? or a $.)
Boolean logic. - Most of the databases will want you
to format your search query using Boolean logic, where you
type in single words or simple phrases, combining terms with
the connectors AND, OR, or NOT.
- To keep the terms together as an exact phrase, put the
phrase in quotation marks, i.e. "Central Illinois."
- Any time you use an OR for synonyms, put the terms in
parentheses, i.e. (red or blue)
Example:
Say we want to find articles on African-American females
in politics. What keywords would we want to use in our query?
- For African American, the record might use Black instead.
- For female, it might use woman or women.
- Politics is pretty straightforward, though we might want
to truncate that to find political or politically as well.
So to phrase the query using Boolean logic, we would type:
("african american*"
or black*) and (female or woman or women) and politic*
Too many results?
- Add more search terms. Try to think about what
other aspects of the subject you want the articles to reflect.
- Try searching by subject heading, though this may
actually get you more results rather than fewer.
- Keyword search within a field. You can usually
narrow your search by using the Subject, Title, or Source
fields within the record.
- Also, note any limiters available on a particular
database: date range, language, publication types (journal
article, peer-reviewed, dissertation, etc.).
Too few results?
- Try looking for more versions of your keyword,
like plurals or variations of the word. Consult the online
help for the particular database for "truncation."
- Try to think of other words to describe your topic.
What words could someone possibly use to describe your
issue?
I have citations to articles. Now
what?
Go to Journals @ UIS to see if your periodical is:
- available full text, or
- owned in print or microfilm by us.
Type in the name of the journal, magazine or newspaper and
click the search button.
Journals @ UIS will list those databases
that offer full text access of the particular journal, noted
by a date range. Click on the name of the database (usually
italicized) to jump to the database, where you will have to
re-do your search. (I suggest typing in unique words from
the title of the article and an author.) Most of the time
you will see -->title in the middle of the entry.
Click on the word title to jump to a list of issues of the
periodical, and from there you can browse the table of contents
to find your article.
The UIS periodical holdings are now included as well. It
will say "available in UIS Library" and give you
the date range and the call number. You may also use the yellow
UIS Periodical Holdings spiral-bound books scattered around
the library, or the book catalog PrairieCat.
If the periodical is not here, either in full text or hardcopy,
then you may request it via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
Fill out the ILL
form online, and the article will be mailed to the address
indicated. You will be asked for your I-Card number, the one
that begins with 21412. Please allow 1-3 weeks for delivery.
|