|
This website is designed to give you information on a number
of resources to use for finding information for political studies issues.
Click on the links on the left to get to specific areas of the guide.
- Find Articles offers a discussion of the different kinds of article databases UIS has, how to choose a database, how to phrase searches, and suggestions on when to use a particular database.
- Find Books has information on how to search our book catalog, and how to find books that UIS doesn't own.
- Legislative Histories are guides to tracing legislation and any of the relevant documents associated with it, from bill to law.
Also, see Find Government Information for guides for locating publications from state, federal and international government agencies.
Summary of Most Useful Resources
For books, use:
For some recent articles from both magazines and scholarly journals, try:
- Academic
Search Premier --
full text articles from around 4,500 magazines and journals and indexing for around 8,000 periodicals total
- Expanded
Academic ASAP -- full text articles from around
1,000 magazines and journals, with citations from another
500 sources
For a more comprehensive search for journal articles, try:
- PAIS
International - Public Affairs Information Service -- indexes
articles from around 1,600 periodicals, and thousands of
government reports a year from an international perspective
back to 1972
- Social Sciences Citation Index -- indexes and analyzes citations for relevant scholarly journals from 1,725 journals cover to cover, and another 3,300 journals selectively back to 1987; can sort results by number of times cited to locate key articles
- Worldwide
Political Science Abstracts -- indexes articles from
over 1,200 journals, as well as books, book chapters, and
dissertations on all political science subjects back to
1975
For news coverage, try:
- Chicago Tribune Newsbank -- full text articles from the Chicago Tribune, back to 1985
- LexisNexis Academic -- full text articles from major newspapers from around the world; covers 10 Illinois newspapers including Sun-Times & SJ-R -- to access, click on the tab Guided News Search; also covers magazines and law reviews
- Newsdex -- selected citations (no full text) to the State-Journal Register & Illinois Times back to 1980; defaulted to an author search, so change to Newspaper General Keyword to search the entire record.
For public policy reports, try:
- GAO Reports (1975-present) -- financial analysis reports on all aspects of government from the Government Accountability Office (GAO).
- PolicyFile -- indexes and Internet links to over tens of thousands of publications from over 300 think-tank, governmental and university organizations, back to 1990
To locate a particular journal or magazine, use:
- Journals @ UIS -- tool for locating any periodical we have access to, either online or in print.
To request an article that we don't have, use:
To see the Political Studies Master's Projects/Theses, use:
|