University of Illinois at Springfield UIS Home Page Search UIS
Norris L Brookens Library
 


 

Library Research for Philosophy

My name is Denise Green, green.denise@uis.edu is my email address, 217-206-6644 office phone and Brookens Library Room 234 is my office.

I am the Philosophy liaison librarian. Please contact me with questions, comments and requests. I'm here to help. I recommend you read this guide first all the way through and then go back and look up a book and journal, etc. Let's talk about library research. For most research in Philosophy courses you will need a variety of resources about philosophy, history, language and other subjects. Start your research early! Research usually takes me more time than I think it will. Find a focus that works for you and isn't too broad or too narrow. Leave yourself enough time to carefully read and evaluate the resources you find. Plan for time to write and re-write your philosophy assignments.

This website offers detailed information on finding information by type of source:

 

How to Find Books and Videos

Go to Find Books & Videos. Click on PrairieCat, the Library Book Catalog This will connect you to the UIS and statewide catalog "PrairieCat". "PrairieCat" is the catalog of library materials by author, title or subject.  

Look up a subject like Philosophical anthropology, Utilitarianism or specific philosophers such as Plato, Beauvoir, Simone de. You can also do a subject search for a country, state or smaller geographical area such as Paris or Philosophy, African. Go to Guided Keyword Search to do a combination search, for example Ethics and History (both as title words) would look for books and other library materials that had both Ethics and history in the title of the work. Try the same for politics _and_ philosophy.

UIS Brookens Library uses the Library of Congress classification system to shelve books by call number (a mix of letters and numbers that arranges books by subject). Most of the books in philosophy have call numbers that start with the letter B and more specific areas have two letters. For example, BC Logic, BJ Ethics, etc.

I-cards- your library card at UIS is your I-card. If you come to Springfield to our library you need an I-card to check out books. You can also use your I-card to borrow books from any Illinois library belonging to the I-Share consortium. Some of you will live closer to one of these “sister” libraries than to UIS. You can use them for books especially if you live closer to Millikin University, Decatur, U of I Urbana-Champaign, Bradley University in Peoria or one of the Chicago area libraries or any I-Share library.

The library also has many Reference books to help with your philosophy research. These are dictionaries, encyclopedias and directories such as the Directory of American Philosophers Ref Level 2 Brookens B 935.D5 (2002/2003).

If you make special arrangements with me, we can mail you books from UIS Brookens Library collection to your home. You will be responsible for mailing them back. Send me an email message or call me to make special arrangements.

 

How to Find Magazines, Newspapers, Scholarly Journals and other Periodicals

There are many indexes to periodicals. Go to Find Articles and select a subject menu. Select a database to use. If you are using this from any where off the UIS campus, you will be asked for a User Name/ NetID (probably the same as your Blackboard login but not always the case). Your student NetID or User Name is also printed on your class schedule confirmation. (The class schedule is the blue and white piece of paper from the Registrar that lists the courses you are enrolled in this semester.) Your initial password is your birth date in the format YYYYMMDD

Go to http://www.uis.edu/cts/techsupport/passwords.html for more info on how to change your NetID password. Or contact the Technology Support Center at 217-206-7357 or toll free at 1-877-847-0443 or email them at TechSupport@uis.edu.

Find Articles http://library.uis.edu/findinfo/articles/index.html will lead you to various databases that index journals and magazines. Here's some to start with:

  • * Philosopher's Index - references to articles and books on all philosophy-related fields from over 480 journals, back to 1940. This is the premier index in philosophy covering the major journals and books published around the world.
  • Expanded Academic ASAP from InfoTrac - Indexes hundreds of popular magazines and scholarly journals, sometimes with the fulltext or full image from the magazine or journal.
  • PerAbs - Periodical Abstracts from FirstSearch - an excellent general index to magazines and journals with some fulltext of the periodical articles for viewing or emailing.
  • JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive - over 300 full text core journals, usually older than 3-5 years and back to the first issue of the journal including several key scholarly philosophy journals
  • Project MUSE -- full text access to 170 core humanities and social science journals from over 50 academic and association publishers. Start date depends on the journal, but most start around 1998, through the latest issue. Also includes indexing/abstracting for another 130 journals.

Try looking up articles with key words like Existentialism, Aesthetics, Ethics or phrases like "Philosophy of Law" or "Environmental ethics".

 

Key Scholarly Journals in Philosophy

All on Third level Brookens Library and also available in many other college libraries.

American Philosophical Quarterly 1964-present, B1.A5

Analysis 1971-present B1.A11

Inquiry 1970-present,  B1.I5

Journal of Symbolic Logic 1972-1992, BC 51.J68

Journal of the History of Ideas1990-present, B1.67, also JSTOR

Journal of the History of Philosophy 1963-1980 microfilm, 1976-present, B 1.J68.

Mind see JSTOR database for 1876-1996, Level 3 B1.M65 2005-present

Nous 1990-1997, B 1.N62, also JSTOR

Philosophy and Phenomenological Research 1940-1948 & 1979-present, B1.P57, also JSTOR

Philosophy and Literature 1979-present, PN 2.P5, also JSTOR

Philosophy of Science 1934-1983 microfilm, 1993-present Q1 .P55 also JSTOR

For more description of the UIS Library holdings in philosophy journals either paper or electronic go to the Online Periodicals Directory -Philosophy Section.

 

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan or ILL for short is available for online students. Interlibrary Loan is when the library gets you a specific book or journal article that the library doesn't own. You can borrow books through PrairieCat at http://library.ilcso.illinois.edu/uc in most cases. For journal articles check first to see if UIS owns the periodical or the full text directory at http://sfx.carli.illinois.edu/sfxuis/a-z.

To get started with ILL go to http://library.uis.edu/aboutus/circulation/ill/forms/index.html and read the instructions carefully while filling out the forms. Have your I-card ready, you will need the library # on the card to fill out the ILL forms.

 

Tips for Research in Philosophy

Research in Philosophy is often interdisciplinary. If these databases and terms don't work try researching in a related field like literature, psychology, law, ecology or whatever fits your topic.

If you haven’t already, please go back to Finding Books and Finding Journal Articles and look up 2 to 3 books and look up some journal articles related to your topic or to Philosophy in general.

For problems with NetIDs/User Names or EZProxy logins contact the Technology Support Center at 217-206-7357 or toll free at 1-877-847-0443 or email them at techsupport@uis.edu

If you need assistance, please ask! Contact:

Denise Green , Associate Professor/Instructional Services Librarian
E-mail: green.denise@uis.edu
Phone: 217-206-6644 (office) or 217-206-6633 (Information Desk)

Text Only | About Us | Research | Need Help? | Quick Links | Site Index | Home


Last updated August 28, 2007 | Created by Library Web Committee - Comments? Questions? Please e-mail libweb@uis.edu
Brookens Library - University of Illinois at Springfield, One University Plaza, MS BRK 140, Springfield, Illinois 62703-5407