This website is designed to give you information on resources you'll find useful for this class.
Articles | Books | Useful Websites
Find Articles
The library subscribes to around 90 different databases for magazine, newspaper and scholarly journal articles. In choosing a database, you want to think about the scope or content focus of particular databases.
Looking for news magazine or newspaper articles, or tv/radio news transcripts?
LexisNexis Academic -- this database is a subset of LexisNexis, a commonly subscribed to database by news organizations. Here you will find full text articles from 350 newspapers, including the New York Times back to 1980, the Washington Post back to 1987, the Chicago Sun-Times back to 1992, and the State-Journal Register back to 1994. You will also find full text articles from over 300 news, opinion and trade magazines, around 50 wire servies, and tv/radio news transcripts from NPR, ABC, CBS and CNN. Use the Quick News Search to search all of their content for the last 2 years, or go to Guided News Search to pick a particular type of source.
Other News Sources
Chicago Tribune Newsbank -- full text articles from the Chicago Tribune, back to 1985
Newsdex -- citations (no full text!) to the State-Journal Register & Illinois Times back to 1980
Newspaper Source -- full text articles from over 200 regional, national & international newspapers, as well as television and radio news transcripts
Looking for more in-depth policy analysis?
CQ Researcher -- full text articles from this magazine back to October 1991; each weekly issue covers one current event or policy issue of around 20-30 pages in length
PAIS International - Public Affairs Information Service -- indexes articles from around 1,600 periodicals, and thousands of government reports a year from an international perspective, back to 1972
Looking for scholarly journal articles on your issue?
These 2 databases cover all topics broadly, rather than trying to cover all the literature on a particular subject.
- Academic Search Premier -- full text articles from
around 4,500 magazines and journals and indexing for around
8,000 periodicals total; check the box to limit to scholarly journals
- Expanded Academic ASAP -- full text articles from around 1,000 magazines and journals, with citations from another 500 sources; check the box to limit to scholarly journals
If you want to do more in-depth research on a particular issue, consult Find Articles by Subject. Here you will find databases we have that are more comprehensive for a particular subject, such as Communication & Mass Media and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. I only found the citation, not the entire article. Now what?
Go to Journals @ UIS. Type in the name of the journal in the box. This tool will tell you if the library has it full text in any of our databases, or if we have a physical print subscription to the journal. Note: you will need to allow pop-ups from this site.
If we have it full text access, the databases will be listed under the heading Full Text. You can either plug in the citation information for the article you want, or just click on the GO button to jump to that database and browse or keyword search for your article.
Print or microfilm holdings are listed under the Holding Information heading. If it's a print subscription, note the call number and the format for the year you need. (If it doesn't indicate a format, then it's in print, versus microfilm.)
If we do not own/have access to the article you want, fill out the Interlibrary Loan form and we'll mail you a copy of the article. Please allow 1-3 weeks. |
 |
Find Books
What's in Brookens Library
PrairieCat -- nickname of our online book catalog. Here you will find all of our books, physical print and microfilm periodical holdings, government documents, and videos/DVDs. What you won't find in here are records for journals and magazines that we have via our online databases.
Beyond Brookens Library
I-Share Catalog -- shared catalog for 65 academic libraries throughout the state. Once you find the record for the book you want, click on the Request button at the top and login using the Library number on your I-Card. If you live out of town, you can specify a different library to pick it up at. Usually takes around 4 days. [more info]
If your book is really obscure, go to WorldCat and once you find the record, click the ILL button to request the book. Please give this 1-3 weeks. [more info]
Useful Websites
Capitolbeat -- website for the Association of Capitol Reporters and Editors (ACRE), a national organization of Statehouse reporters.
The Capitol Fax Blog -- Rich Miller's blog, which includes latest gossip about state and local (primarily Chicago) government and politics, as well as a host of links to Illinois government, interest group and media sites.
Capitol Fax.com: Capitol Fax Media Links -- Rich Miller's portal to relevant media websites for Illinois politics.
Illinois (AP) Editors Association -- The home page of the Illinois (AP) Editors Association, which has useful features like a Reporter Toolbag, an Illinois Newspaper Stylebook, and dozens of links to other helpful topics.
Illinois Press Association -- the Illinois Press Association represents some 600 daily and weekly newspapers and has good links regarding the First Amendment and jobs.
inba.net: Illinois News Broadcasters Association -- the state organization for radio and TV news reporters.
Power Reporting: Resources for Journalists -- portal edited by Pulitzer-winning investigative reporter Bill Dedman of the Boston Globe; links to thousands of research tools for reporters, and "probably the single best site for working journalists to find out whatever it is they need to know," according to Professor Wheeler.
Stateline.org :
The home page of Stateline.org, a Web site funded by the Pew Research Center. Without a doubt, the absolute best site going for Statehouse reporters. Stateline provides in-depth daily coverage and informative backgrounders on more than a dozen policy issues, including tons of links to related sources. It also features a daily roundup, by state, of news of government and politics, culled from The Associated Press, NPR, online editions of newspapers, and other sources in each state.
|