University of Illinois at Springfield UIS Home Page Search UIS
Norris L Brookens Library
 


 

Library Research for Public Administration

This website is designed to give you information on a number of resources to use for any public administration topics. Below is a condensed summary of useful databases, as well as more detailed pages on finding background information, articles, and books.

Summary of Useful Resources | Detailed Discussions | Questions?

Summary of Most Useful Resources

For books, use:
To find some recent, full text articles, use:
  • ABI-INFORM -- comprehensive business/administration database covering around 2,000 periodicals of which around 800 are full text, covering 1971 to the present
  • Business Source Elite -- full text articles from over 3,000 business/administration magazines, newspapers, and journals, with citations from another 800 titles

For a more comprehensive search for journal articles, try:
  • PAIS International - Public Affairs Information Service -- indexes articles from around 1,600 periodicals, and thousands of government reports a year from an international perspective back to 1972
  • Public Administration Abstracts [INDEX JA 1 .S27 1974-pres] -- print index specifically for public administration (and sorry, but it doesn't exist as an online database)
  • Social Sciences Citation Index -- indexes and analyzes citations for relevant scholarly journals from 1,725 journals cover to cover, and another 3,300 journals selectively back to 1987; can sort results by number of times cited
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts -- indexes articles from over 1,200 journals, as well as books, book chapters, and dissertations on all political science subjects back to 1975
To locate a particular journal or magazine, use:
  • Journals @ UIS -- tool for locating any periodical we have access to, either online or in print.
To request an article that we don't have, use:
To see the Public Administration Master's Projects/Theses or Dissertations, use:

Detailed Discussions

  • Core Public Administration Journals offers a list of the main journals we have online and/or in print.
  • Find Articles offers a discussion of the different kinds of article databases UIS has, how to choose a database, how to phrase searches, and locating the entire articles.
  • Find Books has information on how to search our book catalog, and how to find books that UIS doesn't own.
  • Find Government Information is a portal to finding information disseminated by state, federal, and international governments.

Text Only | About Us | Research | Need Help? | Quick Links | Site Index | Home


Last updated June 7, 2006 | Created by Library Web Committee - Comments? Questions? Please e-mail libweb@uis.edu
Brookens Library - University of Illinois at Springfield, One University Plaza, MS BRK 140, Springfield, Illinois 62703-5407