University of Illinois at Springfield UIS Home Page Search UIS
Norris L Brookens Library
 


 

Library Research for Legal Studies

This website is designed to give you information on a number of resources to use for finding information for legal issues.

Click on the links on the left to get to specific areas of the guide.

  • Find Articles offers a discussion of the different kinds of article databases UIS has, how to choose a database, suggestions on when to use a particular database, and how to phrase searches.
  • Find Books has information on how to search our book catalog, and how to find books that UIS doesn't own.
  • Major Legal Reference Sources gives you call numbers for important print sources.
  • Legal Studies Guide a comprehensive guide to legal resources in Brookens Library (& beyond)

Also, see Find Government Information for guides for locating publications from state, federal and international government agencies.

Summary of Most Useful Resources

Comprehensive Legal Database:
  • Westlaw -- you will need to log in using the password given to you in your LES class. Comprehensive legal database for laws, cases, and legal analysis. Click on Directory at the top to see a list of all the possible subsets you can search.
Selective Legal Databases:
  • LexisNexis Academic -- click on Legal Research on the left hand side of the screen to access federal and state court cases, and full text articles from legal periodicals and law reviews
  • Westlaw's Campus Research -- full text articles from law reviews, as well as American Law Reports (ALR) and American Jurisprudence 2d; includes primary statutory and case law as well

Also, see Find Federal Law & Legislation and Find State of Illinois Law & Legislation for a mix of library databases and free governmental sites for bills, laws, and administrative rules.

For an overview of doing legislative histories, see: Tracing Federal Legislation or Tracing State of Illinois Legislation.

To locate a particular journal or magazine, use:
  • Journals @ UIS -- tool for locating any periodical we have access to, either online or in print.
To request an article that we don't have, use:
For books, use:
To see the Legal Studies Master's Projects/Theses, use:

 

Text Only | About Us | Research | Need Help? | Quick Links | Site Index | Home


Last updated January 11, 2007 | Created by Library Web Committee - Comments? Questions? Please e-mail libweb@uis.edu
Brookens Library - University of Illinois at Springfield, One University Plaza, MS BRK 140, Springfield, Illinois 62703-5407