|
This website is designed to give you information on major resources to use for historical topics.
Click on the links on the left to get to specific areas of
the guide.
- Find Articles offers
suggestions on what databases to use to search for articles, depending on the type of research you are doing, along with advice on search strategies.
- Find Books has information
on how to search our book catalog, and how to find books
that UIS doesn't own.
- Find Book Reviews discusses resources for finding scholarly book reviews, as well as ones from non-scholarly sources such as newspapers or magazines.
Background Information
If you do not have any general or background information on your topic, find some useful encyclopedia entries. Reading an overview of your issue will give you a sense of scope, and the authors almost always provide a concise bibliography or suggested readings. (This can be useful when there are lots of books on a topic, and you need a recommendation on which books are definitely worthwhile.)
Selected Encyclopedias
- Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African & African American Experience, 2nd Ed. [REF DT14.A37435 2005] -- 5 volume set with around 3,200 signed entries
- Dictionary of American History -- e-book version of the 3rd edition (2003) ten-volume work from Scribner, with over 4,000 signed entries (though no biographical ones); one of the standards in the field [print set REF E174.D52 2003]
- Dictionary of the Middle Ages [REF D114.D5 1982] -- 14 volume set covering Europe, Asia Minor and North Africa from 500-1500 CE, with around 5,000 signed entries
- Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History [REF E185.E54 1996] -- 6 volume set with around 2,200 entries, 2/3rds of them biographical
- Encyclopedia of Chicago [REF F548.3.E53 2004] -- 1 volume work, with signed entries on a wide variety of issues; includes suggestions for further reading, and lots of maps and illustrations
- Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World -- e-book version of this 2004 two-volume work, with around 500 signed entries
- Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture [REF F1406.E53 1996] -- 5 volume set with over 5,200 signed entries
- Encyclopedia of Modern Asia -- e-book version of this 2002, six-volume work, with over 2,600 signed entries; the standard work in the field [print set DS4.L48 2002]
- Encyclopedia of the American Civil War: A Political, Social & Military History -- e-book version of this five-volume work published in 2000, with over 1,600 signed entries [print set REF E468.E5 2000]
- Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East & North Africa, 2nd Ed. [REF DS43.E53 2004] -- 4 volume set covering 1800 to the present, with around 3,000 signed entries
- Encyclopedia of the Renaissance [REF CB361.E52 1999] -- 6 volume work with around 1200 signed entries on historical and cultural issues
- Europe 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World [REF D209.E97 2004] -- 6 volume set with biographical and thematic entries
|