|
Books | Journal Articles | Background Info | Tests/Measurements
Finding Books
Books in UIS Library and 64 Other Illinois Libraries
PrairieCat, the Library's Book Catalog -- Search just UIS's Brookens Library. Holdings include: books, magazines, journals, newspapers, videos, DVDs, sound recordings, and virtually all of our government publications. For a guide to searching PrairieCat, see Help with PrairieCat.
I-Share Catalog -- Search the holdings of all 65 academic and research libraries in Illinois, and request the book be sent to a particular library.
Book you want isn't in PrairieCat?
WorldCat -- Search the holdings of thousands of libraries across the country and the world. Be sure to check the I-Share Catalog first. If you are sure it is not available in the I-Share Catalog, then you can request books in WorldCat.
Finding Journal Articles
If you want to locate articles on a topic...
Here you have several options, depending on what kind of search you want to do.
I want a few/some recent scholarly articles on my topic.
Academic Search Premier -- full text articles from
around 4,500 magazines and journals on all subjects, and indexing for around
8,000 periodicals total; check the box to limit to scholarly journals [help with database] [more info]
Expanded Academic ASAP -- full text articles from around 1,000 magazines and journals on all subjects, with citations from another 500 sources; check the box to limit to scholarly journals [help with database] [more info]
Haworth Press -- access to full text articles in the most recent issues of 30 journals mainly covering social work and human services
PsycARTICLES -- full text of 48 psychology journals published by the American Psychological Association
Wiley Interscience - offers selected full text articles from scholarly journals on psychology back to around 1997; includes indexing of all 32 titles back to the first issue. Note: We do not have full text access to the online books or reference works.
I want to do a more comprehensive search for articles.
ERIC via IBIS/Ovid -- comprehensive index for educational issues (but also good for any issues dealing with children) back to 1966; includes links to full text PDF files of ERIC Documents (1993-present). Alternate platforms for ERIC: ERIC via EBSCOhost and ERIC via FirstSearch.
PsycINFO (1985-present) -- comprehensive index for psychology covering over 1,500 journals and includes links to full text articles in PsycARTICLES; click icon Change Database to search other year ranges; goes back to 1806 [help with database]
Social Services Abstracts -- comprehensive index for social work and human services, covering over 1,500 journals back to 1980
Sociological Abstracts -- comprehensive index to sociology covering over 1,700 journals, back to 1963
I want to find the key articles on my topic.
Social Sciences Citation Index -- indexes and analyzes citations for relevant scholarly journals from 1,725 journals cover to cover, and another 3,300 journals selectively back to 1987 [help with database]
I have a citation to an article. Now what?
Go to the Journals @ UIS. Type in the name of the journal in the box. This directory will tell you if the library has a physical print subscription to the journal, or has access to it in one of our full text databases.
If it's a print subscription, note the call number and the format for the year you need. (If it doesn't indicate a format, then it's in print, versus microfilm.)
If it's full text in a database, click on the Find Title link to browse a list of issues (or you may be given a search box limiting to searching within that journal). Clicking on the name of the database just takes you to the database itself, and you will have to perform a keyword search to locate your specific article. I would suggest typing in unique words from the title of the article.
If we do not own/have access to the article you want, fill out the Interlibrary Loan form and we'll mail you a copy of the article. Please allow 1-3 weeks.
Background Information
In the Reference Collection, Level 2, you'll find specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks that can offer general background information or overviews of topics, specific definitions, and sometimes selective suggested readings. Unfortunately, counseling materials aren't just in one section. Our classification system makes a distinction between psychology (BFs) and psychiatry (RCs, RJs). Then sociology and social work are found in the Hs, with other social science disciplines.
Here are some recent titles, to give you a sense of different call number areas that may be worth exploring in the Reference Area. If there's a hyperlink, we also have it available as an e-book in the database netLibrary.
- Comprehensive Clinical Psychology [RC 467 .C587 1998, 11 volumes]
- Encyclopedia of Aging [HQ1061 .E534 2002, 4 volumes]
- Encyclopedia of Children & Childhood in History & Society [HQ767.84 .E53 2004, 3 volumes]
- Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol & Addictive Behavior [HV 5804 .E53 2001, 4 volumes]
- Encyclopedia of Human Emotions [BF 532 .E55 1999, 2 volumes]
- Encyclopedia of Social Work [HV 35 .S6, 3 volumes]
- Encyclopedia of Sociology [HM425 .E5 2000, 5 volumes]
- Handbook of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry [REF RJ 499.3 .H356 1997, 7 volumes]
- Handbook of Psychology [BF 121 .H1955 2003, 12 volumes]
- Reader's Guide to the Social Sciences [H 61 .R325 2001, 2 volumes] -- purpose is to give you a summary of the core books for social science issues
- Sage Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods [H 62 .S3 2004, 3 volumes]
Tests & Measurements
Health & Psychosocial Instruments -- indexes health and psychological tests, surveys and instruments, back to 1985
We also have Mental Measurements Yearbook [BF 176 .M45] and Tests in Print [BF 176 .T45] in the Reference section in print. Again, these just index and describe the instrument, and they don't give you the instrument itself -- just contact info how to buy a copy. We also have a small collection of instruments here in the library.
|