University of Illinois at Springfield UIS Home Page Search UIS
Norris L Brookens Library
 


 

Library Research for ENS 553 Research Methods - Find Government Information
Below is a general overview of how to find federal and State of Illinois government information, as well as a list of federal and state agencies and important online publication. For more detailed information about government information, see Find Government Information.

Federal Government Info | State Government Info | Important Environmental Agencies & Publications

Find Federal Government Information

A lot of the Federal Government's publications are available online. Roughly 65% of what is disseminated is on the Internet. However, this is for current publications, usually not older than 1995.

The UIS library is a selective depository for federal government publications, meaning we do not receive a copy of everything disseminated. Virtually all of our federal government publications are cataloged, and can be found when doing a search in PrairieCat. However, this only works with individual publications on one topic, or those that are most similar to a book. For the articles within periodicals, you would need to find citations from the databases or indexes.

Recommendations:

  • If you want to do a general search for recent information, try a search engine for government information online.
    • FirstGov - Federal government's official search engine, from the General Services Administration. You may search federal and state government websites. If you click on Advanced Search, you can limit to a particular agency's domain, etc.
    • Google Unclesam - Use the Google search engine to find government websites.
  • If you are looking for historical information, then first try the I-Share Catalog, either limiting to UIS or search all the I-Share libraries. The most comprehensive database for federal government information is GPO Index, which goes back to 1976. The Illinois State Library is a full depository, so they will have a copy of anything you can find a record for. (They are a part of the I-Share Catalog, however they have not fully cataloged all of their historical government publications.)

Find State of Illinois Government Information

The State of Illinois is also putting a lot of their information on the Web, though the information is usually just the most current.

The UIS library is a depository for all Illinois publications that are disseminated, and they can be located in the I-Share Catalog. (The Illinois State Library is the one who disseminates state publications, so if there is a shortage, the State Library will definitely have a copy.)

Recommendations:

Important Federal & State of Illinois Government Environmental Resources

Federal State of Illinois

 

Icon for Agency = Agency Icon for Database = Database
Icon for Publication = Publication

Federal

Agencies & Congressional Committees | Databases | Publications

Note: Many links are using the Government Printing Office's PURLs, or Persistent Uniform Resource Locators, rather than direct links to the federal agencies. This improves the links accuracy, in case the publication was moved to a different URL. However, it does take an extra few seconds to retrieve the website.

Federal Agencies & Congressional Committees

The federal agencies' websites are good starting points when looking for general information on a relevant topic, or when looking for specific information that you know the agency handles. Virtually all of the websites have a site index or a search engine, if you have difficulty navigating the site.

Federal Agencies

Icon for Agency Council on Environmental Quality - Coordinates federal environmental efforts and works closely with agencies and other White House offices in the development of environmental policies and initiatives. Part of the Executive Office of the President.
Icon for Agency Energy Department - Environmental roles include: supporting environmental quality by aggressively cleaning up the environmental legacy of nuclear weapons and civilian nuclear research and development programs; minimizing future waste generation; safely managing nuclear materials; permanently disposing of the nation's radioactive wastes; and increasing the efficiency and productivity of energy use, while limiting environmental impacts.
Icon for Agency Environment & Natural Resources Division - Responsible for enforcing federal environmental laws on pollution-control, natural resources and public lands, and wildlife protection. Part of the Justice Department.
Icon for Agency Environmental Protection Agency - Charged to protect human health and to safeguard the natural environment--air, water, and land--upon which life depends.
Icon for Agency Forest Service - Manages public lands in national forests and grasslands. The Forest Service is also the largest forestry research organization in the world, and provides technical and financial assistance to state and private forestry agencies. Part of the Agriculture Department.
Icon for Agency

Interior Department - Principal conservation agency. Mission includes: protecting the environment and preserving the nation's natural and cultural resources; managing natural resources for a healthyenvironment and a strong economy; and adding to the environmental and physical scienceknowledge base.

Important Sub-Agencies

  • Bureau of Land Management - Administers 264 million acres of America's public lands, located primarily in 12 western states. Sustains the health, diversity, and productivity of the public lands for  the use and enjoyment of present and future generations.
  • Fish & Wildlife Service - Major responsibilities involve migratory birds, endangered species, certain marine mammals, and freshwater and anadromous fish. The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service's mission is to conserve, protect and enhance fish, wildlife, and plants and their habitats.
Icon for Agency National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration - Conducts research and gathers data about the global oceans, atmosphere, space, and sun, and applies this knowledge to science and service. Part of the Commerce Department.
Icon for Agency Natural Resources Conservation Service - Assists owners of America's private land with conserving their soil, water, and other natural resources. Part of the Agriculture Department.

Congressional Committees

These Congressional Committees oversee the agencies that deal with environmental issues. The Committees are the first place legislation is voted on, and the Committees may hold hearings for expert testimony. Recent hearings are usually available on the Committee's websites.

Icon for Agency House Committee on Energy & Commerce
Icon for Agency House Committee on Resources
Icon for Agency House Committee on Science
Icon for Agency Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition & Forestry
Icon for Agency Senate Committee on Energy & Natural Resources
Icon for Agency Senate Committee on Environment & Public Works

Federal Databases

Icon for Database Annual Energy Review, Monthly Energy Review & International Energy Annual - Statistics from the Energy Information Administration, on energy reserves, production, consumption, distribution, prices, technology, and related international, economic, and financial matters.
Icon for Database Climatological Data Free access from .edu domain computers - NOAA data warehouse of weather information.
Icon for Database Envirofacts Data Warehouse and Applications - Retrieve environmental information from EPA databases on Air, Chemicals, Facility Information, Grants/Funding, Hazardous Waste, Risk Management Plans, Superfund, Toxic Releases, and Water Permits, Drinking Water, Drinking Water Contaminant Occurrence, and Drinking Water Microbial and Disinfection Byproduct Information (Information Collection Rule [ICR]). You may retrieve information from several databases at once, or from one database at a time.
Icon for Database Threatened and Endangered Species System - Search or browse the lists for threatened or endangered animals, proposed animals and plants, or delisted animals and plants. From the Interior Department's Fish & Wildlife Service.
Icon for Database Toxicology & Environmental Health - Access to various databases and resources such as TOXNET and Haz Map, from the National Library of Medicine.

Selected Federal Publications

Icon for Publication Alternative Fuel News - Newsletter, published four times per year, provides information about Clean Cities projects, designations, and conferences, and is dedicated to publishing the most unbiased and up-to-date information about developments in the alternative fuels industry.
Icon for Publication Annual Energy Outlook - Presents midterm forecasts of energy supply, demand, and prices; discusses evolving legislative and regulatory issues; and analysis of energy market trends.
Icon for Publication Clean Coal Today - Quarterly newsletter on the Clean Coal Technology Demonstration Program - a joint government-industry initiative to test first-of-its-kind coal technology that offers superior environmental performance. May browse all the issues back to 1990.
Icon for Publication EM State Fact Sheets - Information about the Energy Department's Office of Environmental Management's activities in each state. Choose a state, either from the image map or the search box at the bottom.
Icon for Publication Frontiers, Argonne National Laboratory, Research Highlights - Annual publication of Argonne National Laboratory, covering basic science, energy resources, and environmental management.
Icon for Publication Inventory of US Greenhouse Gas Emissions and Sinks - 200+ page annual report by the Environmental Protection Agency on estimates of US greenhouse gas emissions, including methodology and data used to calculate the estimates. Archive copies of the last 4 years, plus other publications on emissions.
Icon for Publication National Air Quality & Emissions Trends Report - EPA's "report card" on the status of air quality and air pollutant emissions
Icon for Publication National Atlas of the United States - Online version of the 1997 update to the 1970 National Atlas. Largely digital, provides national-level geographic information on natural and sociocultural landscapes.
Icon for Publication National Water Quality Inventory Report - Primary vehicle for informing Congress and the public about general water quality conditions in the United States. This document characterizes our water quality, identifies widespread water quality problems of national significance, and describes various programs implemented to restore and protect our waters.
Icon for Publication Oak Ridge National Laboratory Review - Quarterly magazine highlighting research and development activities which include: energy production and end-use technologies; biological and environmental science and technology; advanced materials synthesis, processing, and characterization; and the physical sciences, including neutron-based science and technology.
Icon for Publication Science and Technology Review: Lawrence Livermore Laboratory - Quarterly magazine designed to clearly communicate Lawrence Livermore's scientific and technological accomplishments on advanced defense technologies, energy, environment, biosciences, and basic sciences. May browse or keyword search the issues back to 1995, or use their index.

State of Illinois

Agencies | Publications

Illinois Agencies

The state agencies' websites are good starting points when looking for general information on a relevant topic, or when looking for specific information that you know the agency handles. Most of the websites have a site index or a search engine, if you have difficulty navigating the site.

Icon for Agency

Department of Agriculture - Promotes and regulates agriculture in a manner which encourages farming and agribusiness while protecting Illinois' consumers and our natural resources.

Important Sub-Agencies

  • Bureau of Land & Water Resources - Responsible for programs aimed at reducing soil loss and protecting water quality, and organizes the state's annual soil survey.
  • Environmental Programs Division - Responsible for controlling plant pests and disease, including noxious weed control. Registers pesticides, license applicators and investigate misuse complaints and oversee a pesticide container recycling program.
Icon for Agency

Dept of Commerce & Economic Opportunity, Bureau of Energy & Recycling - Provides technical advice, financial assistance and research support to develop technologies in energy conservation, alternative energy, recycling, and waste reduction.

Icon for Agency

Department of Natural Resources - Responsible for conserving, preserving, and enhancing Illinois' natural treasures, while meeting outdoor recreation needs. Manages game and fish populations while protecting endangered plant and animal species.

Important Sub-Agencies/Programs

Icon for Agency Department of Nuclear Safety - Responsible for protecting Illinois residents from the potentially harmful effects of ionizing radiation. Administers over two dozen programs to protect citizens and the environment.
Icon for Agency Department of Public Health, Division of Environmental Health - Works to reduce the incidence of disease and injury related to environmental factors fall within five major areas of responsibility: rulemaking; plan reviews and construction permits; inspections; vocational and facility licensing; and engineering and toxicological reports.
Icon for Agency

Illinois Environmental Protection Agency - Fosters a cleaner, healthier environment through responsibilities granted under the State of Illinois Environmental Protection Act and other state and federal laws/regulations.

Important Program

  • Green Illinois - Designed to increase awareness and promote efforts to reduce waste, use alternative fuels, improve energy efficiency, and generally use products and procedures that are environmentally sustainable and economically efficient.
Icon for Agency Illinois Pollution Control Board - Responsible for adopting Illinois' environmental regulations and deciding contested environmental cases.

Selected Illinois Publications

Icon for Publication Air Quality Report - Annual publication from the Bureau of the Air, part of the Illinois Environmental Protection Agency. Highlights information obtained from the statewide air monitoring network, which incorporates more than 300 monitors that track the measurements of a variety of pollutants and air toxic compounds.
Icon for Publication Endangered & Threatened Species List - The Illinois Endangered Species Protection Board, part of the Department of Natural Resources, revises the list of protected species every five years and completed its most recent revisions in 1999. Next revision to be completed in 2004.
Icon for Publication Environmental Conditions Report - Annual publication from the Illinois Environmental Protection Agency, highlighting environmental trends and goals.
Icon for Publication Environmental Progress - Quarterly magazine from the Illinois Environmental Protection Agency.
Icon for Publication

Illinois Natural Resources Information Network - Links to information on various projects from the Department of Natural Resources, including:Illinois Environmental Quality, Illinois Ecosystems, etc.

Icon for Publication Nature Preserve Directory - Produced by the Illinois Nature Preserves Commission, an online directory of high quality natural areas and habitats of endangered and threatened species in perpetuity, through voluntary dedication or registration of such lands into the Illinois Nature Preserves System.
Icon for Publication Toxic Chemical Report - Annual summary of information contained in the Toxic Chemical Report Forms, the annual reports to be filed by certain companies which release any of over 600 listed toxic chemicals and compounds to the environment. Compiled by the Illinois Environmental Protection Agency.
Icon for Publication Water Quality Report - Annual publication from the Bureau of Water, part of Illinois Environmental Protection Agency. Collects chemical, physical, biological, habitat and toxicity data on rivers and streams, inland lakes, Lake Michigan and groundwater to satisfy reporting requirements for the Federal Clean Water Act (CWA). The primary purpose is to provide for an assessment of the overall water quality conditions of Illinois waters.

Text Only | About Us | Research | Need Help? | Quick Links | Site Index | Home


Last updated June 7, 2006 | Created by Library Web Committee - Comments? Questions? Please e-mail libweb@uis.edu
Brookens Library - University of Illinois at Springfield, One University Plaza, MS BRK 140, Springfield, Illinois 62703-5407