University of Illinois at Springfield UIS Home Page Search UIS
Norris L Brookens Library
 


 

Library Research for ENS 521 Environmental Risk Assessment
This website is designed to give you information on major risk assessment resources you'll need for this class.

If you need to find books or articles beyond what's discussed on this website, see Library Research for ENS Seminar. It's a more comprehensive guide to doing research on a wide variety of environmental issues.

GIS/Maps

  • GATHER Geographic Analysis Tool for Health & Environmental Research - GIS/spatial data access system that provides members of the public health community and general public access to spatial data that is pertinent to the analysis and exploration of public health issues. Map a geographic area and can view particular hazardous waste sites, population density, nearby water bodies, etc.
  • Illinois State Geological Survey - Programs encompass geologic mapping, water and mineral resources, environmental and engineering geology, geochemistry, and education. Affiliated with the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.
  • Map Department, Illinois State Library - Has a huge collection of maps; they circulate some and others they can duplicate.
  • TOXMAP - GIS system to visually see environmental data
  • U.S. Geological Survey - Source for science about the Earth, its natural and living resources, natural hazards, and the environment. Need cartographic data? This agency offers maps and cartographic, GIS data both online and in print format.

Demographic/Census Data

If you need to quickly look up figures, try:

  • State & County QuickFacts - down to the county, can download data in spreadsheet format (scroll down to the bottom of the table)
  • Fact Sheets - down to the city; if you click on the Show More button, you can then download the newly generated table into Excel
  • "Enter a Street Address" - can generate tables from an address; remember that the smallest geographic unit you can get the social and economic characteristics is a Census Tract

If you need data for some other geography or a more complex search, you'll have to use American FactFinder Data Sets.

Government Agencies

The federal and state government has a wealth of resources that are useful. However, you need to know what agency will have data/tools for your issue.

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)

Charged to protect human health and to safeguard the natural environment--air, water, and land--upon which life depends.

Important Sub-Agency

  • National Center for Environmental Assessment - EPA's national resource center for human health and ecological risk assessment. NCEA conducts risk assessments, carries out research to improve the state-of-the-science of risk assessment, and provides guidance and support to risk assessors.

EPA Tools

Agency for Toxic Substances & Diseases Registry (ATSDR)

Part of the agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, within the Centers for Disease Control & Prevention. Their mission is to serve the public by using the best science, taking responsive public health actions, and providing trusted health information to prevent harmful exposures and disease related to toxic substances.

ATSDR Tools

National Library of Medicine

The National Library of Medicine (NLM), on the campus of the National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, Maryland, is the world's largest medical library. For more than 100 years, the Library has published the Index Medicus®, a monthly subject/author guide to articles in 3400 journals. This information, and much more, is today available in the database MEDLINE®, the major component of PubMed®, freely accessible via the World Wide Web. MEDLINE has more than 12 million journal article references and abstracts going back to the early sixties. Other databases provide information on monographs (books), audiovisual materials, and on such specialized subjects as toxicology, environmental health, and molecular biology.

NLM Tools

  • TOXMAP - GIS system to visually represent data from the Toxic Release Inventory
  • TOXNET Toxicology Data Network - portal to 9 toxicology and hazardous chemicals databases from the National Library of Medicine

Databases include:

  • CCRIS - Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System -- Chemical records from the National Cancer Institute, with carcinogenicity, mutagenicity, tumor promotion, and tumor inhibition test results. Data are derived from studies cited in primary journals, current awareness tools, NCI reports, and other special sources. Test results have been reviewed by experts in carcinogenesis and mutagenesis.
  • ChemIDplus -- Structure and nomenclature authority files used for the identification of chemical substances cited in National Library of Medicine databases. Also provides structure searching and direct links to many biomedical resources at NLM and on the Internet for chemicals of interest. Searchable by Name, Synonym, CAS Registry Number, Molecular Formula, Classification Code, Locator Code, and Structure
  • DART/ETIC - Developmental & Reproductive Toxicology (1965-present) -- Bibliographic database for articles, covering teratology and other aspects of developmental and reproductive toxicology. Joint project of the Environmental Protection Agency, the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, the National Center for Toxicological Research of the Food and Drug Administration, and the National Library of Medicine.
  • GENE-TOX - Genetic Toxicology (Mutagenicity) -- Toxicology data file containing genetic toxicology (mutagenicity) test data, resulting from expert peer review of the open scientific literature, on over 3000 chemicals. From the Environmental Protection Agency
  • HSDB - Hazardous Substances Data Bank -- Toxicology data file focusing on the toxicology of potentially hazardous chemicals; enhanced with information on human exposure, industrial hygiene, emergency handling procedures, environmental fate, regulatory requirements, and related areas, from core set of books, government documents, technical reports and selected primary journal literature; organized into individual chemical records
  • IRIS - Integrated Risk Information System -- Toxicology data file containing data in support of human health risk assessment; focuses on hazard identification and dose-response assessment, and is reviewed by work groups of EPA scientists and represents EPA consensus. key data provided: EPA carcinogen classifications, unit risks, slope factors, oral reference doses, and inhalation reference concentrations
  • ITER -- chemical risk information from authoritative groups worldwide, including the EPA, the ATSDR, Health Canada, the Dutch National Institute of Public Health and the Environment, the International Agency for Research on Cancer, as well as independent parties whose risk values have undergone peer review. From the Cincinnati based Toxicology Excellence for Risk Assessment.
  • TOXLINE - Toxicology Bibliographic Information (1966-present) -- Citations to articles on biochemical, pharmacological, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals; made up of 2 databases: TOXLINE Core are journal article citations from the MEDLINE database, and TOXLINE Special are research reports and journal articles from other sources. If you dislike the TOXLINE interface AND you are just looking for journal articles, you could use MEDLINE, either via MEDLINE or FirstSearch or the free PubMed interface (same as using TOXLINE Core)
  • TRI - Toxics Release Inventory (1995-2001)
    Contains information on the annual estimated releases of toxic chemicals to the environment and is based upon data collected by the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Mandated by the Superfund legislation, TRI's data covers air, water, land, and underground injection releases, as well as transfers to waste sites, and waste treatment methods and efficiency, as reported by industrial facilities around the United States. TRI also includes data related to source reduction and recycling. search by chemical or other name, chemical name fragment, or CAS Registry Number. Also searchable are facility or parent company name, state, city, county, or zip code. Search results can be limited to releases greater than a specified number of pounds, and individual releases can be summed together to display a total amount.

Suggestions for Literature Review

When doing a literature review on your substance, use the Toxicological Profile as a starting point. Note the dates of the most recent articles it cites, then you will need to find articles going back to that particular date. Use TOXLINE (or MEDLINE) to locate citations to articles.

Once you have citations to articles, use Find Magazines & Journals to locate the full article. The Journals @ UIS will tell you what we physically own as well as what we have available full text online via one of our databases.

If we don't have the journal at all, never fear! You have a couple options.

  1. See if SIU School of Medicine Library has a subscription. They have a large collection of medical journals. We have full access to their library, as long as you are willing to travel to it. Hours and location.
  2. Fill out the Interlibrary Loan form for the article. Please allow 1 to 3 weeks.

 

 

Text Only | About Us | Research | Need Help? | Quick Links | Site Index | Home


Last updated June 7, 2006 | Created by Library Web Committee - Comments? Questions? Please e-mail libweb@uis.edu
Brookens Library - University of Illinois at Springfield, One University Plaza, MS BRK 140, Springfield, Illinois 62703-5407