Finding Background Information & Facts
Sometimes you may just need an overview of an author or quick biographical information. We have a number of sources in the Reference Area, in the Ps on Level 2, as well as some online reference sources.
Call numbers given reflect the UIS library. Other libraries may differ. I would encourage you to browse the literature reference section of whatever academic/research library is convenient for you. Browse the Ps for libraries that use Library of Congress and the 800s for libraries that use Dewey.
Dictionaries | Encyclopedias Dictionaries
Dictionaries offer short, usually a paragraph to a couple of pages, amounts of information. Best to use for definitions of terms, quick facts on an author or work, or concise background information.
Electronic Resource
Oxford English Dictionary Online (OED Online)
Years covered 2nd Edition (1989, with 3 supplements finished in 1993 & 1997); currently being completely revised, completed around 2010; new words added quarterly
Contents most comprehensive dictionary of the English language, with definitions and contextual examples of usage, including the first written usage; results presented in two sets, one consisting of 2nd edition results and the other consisting of new edition results
When best to use looking for all definitions and usage of words
Don't use it for quick, basic definitions
Selective/comprehensive coverage comprehensive
Print equivalent is not as current; Oxford English Dictionary, 2nd Ed & 2 supplements REF PE1625.O87 1989
Examples of Print Resources
- Cyclopedia of Literary Characters REF PN44.M3 1998 - multi-volume work offering short descriptions of cast of characters in 3,300 works
- Dictionary of Literary Terms & Literary Theory REF PN41.C83 1998
- Literary Research Guide REF PR83.H37 2002 - overviews of literary sources
- Oxford Companion to 20th Century Literature in English REF PR471.O94 1996 - short entries (a paragraph to a page) on persons, works, characters and terms; number of Oxford Companions on other subjects, both national literatures and genres
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedias offer overviews of authors or genres, usually a page to 30 pages in length. A good encyclopedia entry will give you a good synopsis of how the author or genre is seen by experts, as well as references and suggestions for further readings.
Electronic Resources
Contemporary Authors (CA)
Years covered latest entry from set that goes back to 1967.
Subjects covered biographical and bibliographical information and references on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors, occasional excerpts of interviews
When best to use looking for biographical information on an author, or references to selected biographical articles
Don't use it for in-depth literary criticism of authors' works
Selective/comprehensive coverage of subjects comprehensive
Print equivalent same as online; Contemporary Authors & Contemporary Authors, New Revision REF PN771.C5812
Contemporary Literary Criticism Select (CLC Select)
Years covered current; updated 3 times per year
Subjects covered critical essays, or excerpts of critical essays, on contemporary novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers, and other creative writers (authors living or who died after 1959), with biographical/critical introduction, listing of principal works and sources for further study
When best to use want an overview of critical responses to well-known authors
Don't use it for comprehensive searches of articles and other sources of literary criticism
Selective/comprehensive coverage of subjects selective
Number of authors 550
Print equivalent print version more comprehensive, Contemporary Literary Criticism REF PN771.C59
Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB)
Years covered current
Subjects covered biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the most influential British and American literary figures from all eras and genres
When best to use want a 10-30 page overview of the life and works of major authors
Don't use it for comprehensive searches of articles and other sources of literary criticism
Selective/comprehensive coverage of subjects selective
Number of records 10,000
Print equivalent print version more comprehensive, containing other nationalities (German, French, etc.); Dictionary of Literary Biography REF PN771.D5
Notable British Novelists
Published in 2001
Subjects covered 3 volume set offering biographical and critical essays on around 100 most studied British authors, including D.H. Lawrence (in volume 2)
When best to use want a 20+ page overview of the life and works of major authors
Don't use it for comprehensive searches of articles and other sources of literary criticism
Selective/comprehensive coverage of subjects selective
Print equivalent there is, though we do not own it
Routledge History of Literature in English: Britain and Ireland
Published in 2002
Subjects covered development of English literature, from 600 to the present
When best to use want an overview of the historical trends in English literature (there are 2 entries on Lawrence and he's mentioned several times in the text)
Don't use it for literary criticism
Selective/comprehensive coverage of subjects selective
Print equivalent there is, though we do not own it
Examples of Print Resources
- British Writers REF PR 85.B688 - multi-volume work with 15+ page entries on British writers of various time periods
- The Continuum Encyclopedia of British Literature REF PR 19.C66 2003 - 1700 entries on particular authors or genres
- Encyclopedia of British Writers REF PR 451 .E55 2003 - 2 volume set offering profiles of 800 authors from the 19th and 20th century. Includes literary and popular authors.
- Encyclopedia of the Novel REF PN41.E487 1998 - 2 volume set with 2-10 page entries on various aspects of the novel as a literary form, from individual novels and authors, to time periods and genres.
|