University of Illinois at Springfield UIS Home Page Search UIS
Norris L Brookens Library


 

Library Research for ENGL 460: Images of Asian/Asian Americans in Literature and Films

Liaison librarian:
Sam Wood
E-mail: swood4@uis.edu
Phone: 206-7115
238 Brookens Library

Finding books
You can search for books using UIS’ catalog, PrairieCat. If we don’t have what you need, click on the button that takes you to the I-Share catalog, which serves the Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois. If you see a book you want or need there, you can use the Request button to order it. You will need your Library ID on your I-Card.

Some helpful Library of Congress Subject Headings for your assignment might include:

Asian Americans.   
Asian Americans and mass media
Asian Americans--Ethnic identity. 
Asian Americans--Fiction. 
Asian Americans in literature 
Asian Americans in literature--Bio-bibliography. 
Asian Americans in literature--Dictionaries. 
Asian Americans in literature--Handbooks, manuals, etc. 
Asian Americans in television   
Asian Americans on television (Here are entered works on the portrayal of Asian Americans on television. Works on the employment of Asian Americans in television are entered under Asian Americans in television broadcasting.)
Asian Americans--Poetry. 

Useful sources for journal articles

Academic Search Premier
General database with a significant amount of full-text.

Communication & Mass Media
Indexes journal articles, including book reviews, from 500 magazines and journals, with full text from approximately 300 magazines and journals.

Expanded Academic ASAP
General database with a significant amount of full-text.

MLA International Bibliography

The most-used database for materials on literature and film.  The Find It! buttons don’t appear as often as they should, so you will have to check Find Journals to see if we have the article you want.

Sociological Abstracts
The most-used database for sociological studies, which can often include how we present and therefore view different groups.


RefWorks
Always make a record of citation information for every source you use. You will be required to cite your sources in your work. Check with your professor to see what citation format you are to use. Use RefWorks to collect citation information, cite your sources in your work, and format your bibliography.

Free web sites:
History of Asian-Americans: http://newton.uor.edu/Departments&Programs/AsianStudiesDept/asianam-history.html

The Golden Mountain: Asian-Americans in the West: http://www.library.csi.cuny.edu/westweb/pages/asian.html

Text Only | About Us | Research | Need Help? | Quick Links | Site Index | Home


Last updated February 19, 2007 | Created by Library Web Committee - Comments? Questions? Please e-mail libweb@uis.edu
Brookens Library - University of Illinois at Springfield, One University Plaza, MS BRK 140, Springfield, Illinois 62703-5407