University of Illinois at Springfield UIS Home Page Search UIS
Norris L Brookens Library
 


 

Education Research Resources

Reference Sources

Directories | Encyclopedias | Handbooks | International Education | Reviews & Yearbooks | Other Key Titles

Directories

The Educator's Desk Reference. Melvyn N. Freed
Lists journals and educational software - pre-school through grad. School. Also provides publisher guidelines (useful for graduate students & faculty). [note: not to be confused with the online Educator's Desk Reference]
Call #: LB1028.27.U6 F74 2002 Reference

Requirements for Certification of Teachers, Counselors, Librarians, Administrators for Elementary and Secondary Schools. U. of Chicago Press (1989-pres)
[latest ed. in Reference, older editions on 4th floor, oversize collection]
Call #: LB1771.W6 2004/2005 Reference

Research in Education. John W. Best
Guide to doing research in education. Contains bibliographies & index.
Call #: LB1028.B4 2006 Reference [older volumes available on 4th floor]

Dictionaries

Evaluation Thesaurus
Key concepts in the evaluation process.
Call #: AZ191.S37 1991 [Reference]

Greenwood Dictionary of Education
Call #: LB15 . G68 2003 [Reference]

American Educator's Encyclopedia, 1991
Quick reference, one volume source with references to articles
Call #: LB15.D37 1991 [4th floor]

Thesaurus of ERIC Descriptors, 14th ed., 2001
A bit dated, but certainly easier to browse than the online thesaurus within ERIC.
Call #: Z695.1.E3 E34 Reference [also located across from Reference Desk]

Library of Congress Subject Headings. 5 vols., 2005
Call #: located across from Reference Desk

Library of Congress Classification Outline

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Education and Human Development, 2005
Call #: LB15 .E473 2005 [Reference]

Encyclopedia of Education, 8 vols.
Call #: LB15 .E47 2003 [Reference]

Encyclopedia of Educational Research, 4 vols. 1992
Reproduction of articles as well as bibliographic information. Sponsored by the American Educational Research Association.
Call #: LB15.E48 1992 [Reference]

Encyclopedia of Higher Education, 4 vols. 1992
International in scope and arranged thematically. Volume IV contains a comprehensive index
Call #: LB15 .E49 1992 [Reference]

The Encyclopaedia of Philosophy of Education. Edited by Michael A. Peters (New Zealand) & Paulo Ghiraldelli Jr. (Brazil)
In English & Portuguese

Encyclopedia of School Administration and Supervision
Key concepts are covered through individually authored articles.
Call #: LB2805.E53 1988 [4th floor, Oversize Collection]

Concise Encyclopedia of Special Education: A Reference for the Education of the Handicapped and Other Exceptional Children and Adults. 2nd edition
Call #: LC4007.E53 2002 [Reference]

Handbooks

Charter Schools: A Reference Handbook
Call #: LB2806.36 .W45 2000 [4th floor]

Handbook of Private Schools: An Annual Descriptive Survey of Independent Education
Call #: L901 .H3 [Reference, and older editions on 4th floor]

Religion in the Schools: A Reference Handbook
Law & Legislation. Public schools & religion
Call #: LC111 .J87 1998 [4th floor]

School Violence: A Reference Handbook
Educational law and legislation; crime prevention
Call #: LB3013.3 .K68 1997 [4th floor]

International Education

International Encyclopedia of Education. 2nd ed. 12 vols.
Divides education into 22 major categories. Excellent subject index which utilizes the Thesaurus of ERIC Descriptors. This is a KEY SOURCE in finding historical and theoretical information. Includes name index.
Call #: LB15.I569 1994 [Reference]

International Encyclopedia of Higher Education. 1977. 10 vols.
Administrative systems of higher ed. world wide.
Call #: LB15.I57 [Reference]

International Encyclopedia of Teaching and Teacher Education. 2nd ed. Lorin W. Anderson, editor
Predominantly covers western & English-speaking countries.
Call #: LB1025.3.I58 1995 [Reference]

International Higher Education: An Encyclopedia. 2 vols.
Covers philosophical and conceptual approaches to education in fifty-one countries
Call #: LB15.I59 1991 [Reference]

Reviews & Yearbooks 

Review of Educational Research. Publication of the AERA. Annual, 1931-
Annual review. Each issue is devoted to a specific educational subject
Call #: L11.R35 [3rd floor periodicals, current and past 10 years. Prior holdings on microfiche]

Review of Research in Education. Quarterly 1973-
Quarterly publication of the American Educational Research Association (AERA). KEY RESOURCE IN EDUCATION RESEARCH
Call #: LB1028 .R4X [4th floor]

Yearbook of the National Society for the Study of Education [series title]
Each year the national society produces two volumes, each devoted to a different topic in education. Search by series title then limit by word, or sort by years, etc.
Call #: LB5.N25 + [4th floor]

Educational Media and Technology Yearbook. Libraries Unlimited, Inc. Annual
Call #: LB1028.3 .E3701 [Reference, older editions on 4th floor]

Philosophy of Education Society Yearbook, 1992-
Call #: L13 .P74 [4th floor, 1966 - 1990]

Other key titles for doing Education Research

How to Design and Evaluate Research in Education
Call #: LB1028 .F665 2000 (4th ed.) [2005 edition on order]

Scientific Research in Education
Call #: LB1028 .N332 2002 (4th floor)

Research and Evaluation in Education and Psychology: Integrating Diversity with Quantitative, Qualitative, and Mixed Methods
Call #: LB1028 . M3964 2005 (4th floor)

Text Only | About Us | Research | Need Help? | Quick Links | Site Index | Home


Last updated June 7, 2006 | Created by Library Web Committee - Comments? Questions? Please e-mail libweb@uis.edu
Brookens Library - University of Illinois at Springfield, One University Plaza, MS BRK 140, Springfield, Illinois 62703-5407