|
Introduction |
Subjects Covered | Finding Government
Information |
How Arranged | Statistical Information
| Suggested Federal Agencies & Publications | Suggested Illinois Agencies & Publications
Introduction
This website will focus on finding information that
is created by a federal or state governmental agency. First
off, I have a tendency to use the terms information,
publications, and documents interchangeably.
In this context they all mean the same thing -- stuff put
out by the government. The UIS Library has a large print and
microfiche collection of both federal and State of Illinois
publications on Level 2, and they are kept separate from the
rest of the book collection. The UIS Library receives around
30% of what the federal government distributes to libraries.
We can pick and choose which agencies we want to receive publications
from, and we concentrate in those subject areas we teach as
well as those subjects that would be of use to the general
public. And while UIS has only been around since 1970, we
have a good historical collection as well as current. For
State of Illinois documents, we receive everything that is
disseminated.
The point of distributing government publications to libraries
is to "Keep America Informed," meaning that as citizens
in a democratic society, we have a right to access the information
gathered at taxpayer expense. And we also need to know what
they are doing in D.C. and state capitals, both in the sense
of oversight and accountability, as well as we are required
to know what the laws of the land are.
Subjects Covered
The federal government is one of the largest publishers in
the world. According to the Government
Printing Office (GPO) Fact Sheet, they distributed over
30.5 million print copies and another 372 million files were
downloaded from their servers in 2002. They have around 9,000
different titles for sale.
The different agencies publish information on every subject
imaginable. However, most of the publications are going to
be related to law, legislation, public policy, economics,
statistics, and the sciences.
Some general types of information:
- Law & Legislation -- The federal government
publishes pretty much everything that goes on publicly in
Congress, from proposed Bills to Committee Hearings to Committee
Reports to the Public Laws. What goes on on the House or
Senate Floor is published in the Congressional Record. For
more information on finding law and legislation, please
see Find
Federal Laws & Legislation or Find
State of Illinois Laws & Legislation.
- Analysis of Legislation -- Various legislative
and executive branch agencies will do reports on legislation
or public policy issues and those are published. The Government
Accountability Office (GAO) publishes tons of reports analyzing
issues, usually related to fiscal matters. The Congressional
Budget Office also does some analysis of policies, as
well as budget forecasting. And the individual agencies
will have reports on policy matters relating to them.
- Scientific Research -- Department
of Justice and others all have
scientists on staff who do research, and the agencies will
publish their findings. These publications are supposed
to be objective, scholarly sources of information.
- Consumer Information -- Various agencies will publish
pamphlets or brochures aimed at the general public, such as the DEA or the FBI.
- Statistics -- Statistics play a big role in government
information. See below for more information.
- How Wonderful We Are -- The agencies also publish
information about who they are, what they do, and how they
spend their budget. Each federal agency is required to write
up an annual report that is sent to the President and Congress.
Finding Government Information
Brookens Library has both federal and State of Illinois government
publications. Both the federal and state agencies have a lot
of their recent publications online on the individual agency's
websites. For the federal government, recent usually means
starting around 1995. For the state, it's only the past few
years. Our physical collection is shelved on Level 2, arranged
by agency, and can be found when doing a search in PrairieCat.
- DOC = federal documents
- DOC.IL = Illinois documents
Whether you want federal or state publications depends on
your issue. In general, the federal government will concern
itself with national-level issues, while the state will have
more local-level focus. (This becomes trickier when you are
trying to figure out if the federal or state agency has the
statistics you need...)
Suggestions
If you want recent information on your issue, try a search engine. But be prepared to be specific!
- FirstGov - official portal for the US Government; since no search engine covers every website, try Google's Unclesam as well.
- Find-It Illinois: Illinois Government Information - is a search engine specifically for state of Illinois websites, or you can try FirstGov and narrow to Illinois or another state.
- If you already know what agency would have info on your topic, then go to that agency and use their search box, or browse under headings such as publications, data, library, etc. See Suggested Agencies for links to relevant agencies.
If you want to get a sense of what's available, try
using PrairieCat. (If you only care about Illinois, just add
illinois as a keyword to your search.)
If you want to do a historical search, or do a more comprehensive
search for federal publications, try
GPO Index (1976-present; for older, try the Monthly
Catalog, back to 19th century DOC GP 3.8, Level 2). If
FirstSearch says we do not have the document, try searching the I-Share Catalog and remote request it.
Or the State Library is 95% likely to have a copy. (They get
everything are are required to keep them all, while we only
carries around 30% of what is disseminated, and we can discard
publications we consider not worth keeping after we've had
it for 5 years.)
If you want publications from other states, they would
have to be Interlibrary Loaned (ILL'd). Most large academic
libraries collect their state publications and catalog them,
so they may be found in
WorldCat.
If you are only interested in sources done or indexed
by Department of Justice, try:
- National
Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database
- Contains summaries of more than 160,000 criminal justice
publications, including Federal, State, and local government
reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and
unpublished research. May also search a database of 1500
full text reports.
How Arranged
One major difference with the federal and State of Illinois
collections vs. the book collection -- they are arranged by
the agency responsible for the publication, not by subject.
So all the FBI publications are together on the shelves. Federal
documents begin with DOC, then the call number, which is called
SuDoc. State of Illinois documents begin with DOC.IL, then
the call number. It's a different call number scheme than
used with the books and journals. The letter(s) at the beginning
stands for the main agency that wrote the document. Then the
number right after the letter(s) tells you what office, branch,
or bureau within the agency is responsible for it. Then there's
a period, followed by more numbers, which tells you either
the type of document it is, or what series the document is
a part of. Then there's a colon, and the letters/numbers after
the colon either stand for the date of the publication, the
issue number, or the general subject of the document.
So let's say I have the following SuDoc number (made up)
-- J 36.8:P 94/2/2002.
J stands for Department of Justice. J 36 would
be the Office of Community Oriented Policing Services itself.
The .8 tells me that this is a handbook or guide.
(.1 is always used for annual reports. .2
is for general publications. Then eventually each series
gets its own number.) Then after the colon is P 94
-- this tells us that the subject starts with a p,
the /2 tells us that this is the 4th document
given that exact call number, and /2002 tells us this
is the 2002 edition of this document.
Statistical Information
General | Demographic or Population | Criminal Justice
The government compiles statistics on virtually everything,
from agriculture to weather. Federal statistics on average
either cover the nation as a whole, or break it up into regions,
or the 50 states. State government agencies are the most likely
source for county or city level data. The major exceptions
to this rule are the Census Bureau and the Bureau of Labor
Statistics, which do collect information down to the county
and city level.
Each agency is responsible for collecting and disseminating
statistics. There is no Department of Statistics. If you need
statistical information, the first question to ask yourself
is what agency would collect my data? Most of the time it
is obvious. If you wanted statistics on reported income, you
would go to an IRS publication. Sometimes it is not obvious.
If you were looking for divorce statistics, you need to consult
data from theNational Center for Health Statistics.
For more information see Find
Federal Statistics or Find
State of Illinois Statistics.
General
- FedStats
- Federal government's centralized source for finding statistics
online. Browse an A to Z subject list, or perform a keyword
search; also provides links to the agencies' websites.
- Illinois
Statistical Abstract (1997-present) [REF HC107.I3
I63, 1987-present] - General compilation of statistics,
compiled by the Bureau of Economic & Business Research,
and now the Institute of Government & Public Affairs,
at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.
- LexisNexis
Statistical -
Large database for finding statistical information. Also
available in print as American Statistics Index [Doc
Index Z7554.U5 A46 1974-1999]. Click Power
Tables to search 25,000 statistical tables on
a variety of topics. Click Abstracts
to search sources of statistical information published since
1970 (if available online, a URL is provided, and cited
data available in microfiche). Click Links
for other suggested sources of statistical information online.
- Statistical
Abstract of the United States [also DOC C 3.134:
1924-present] - First place to look for statistics;
published annually by
Census Bureau with over 1500 tables of statistics gathered
from all agencies and other organizations. Source at the
bottom of each table, so if you cannot find exactly the
information sought, at least you should be able to find
out what agency will collect that particular data.
Demographic or Population Data
If you need to quickly look up figures, try:
- State & County (and City!) QuickFacts - down to cities (of populations of 25,000+), can download data in spreadsheet format (scroll down to the bottom of the table)
- "Enter a Street Address" - can generate tables from an address; remember that the smallest geographic unit you can get the social and economic characteristics is a Census Tract
If you need data for some other geography or a more complex search, you'll have to use American FactFinder Data Sets.
For more information, see Find
Census Data.
Criminal Justice Statistics
- Bureau of Justice
Statistics - Main agency that collects and disseminates
statistics for the Department of Justice. Has a variety
of data on their website.
- Crime
in Illinois - annual report from the State Police;
includes statistics
- Latest
Federal Government Statistics: Crime - Quick access
to the latest violent crime rates, national
correctional populations, etc.
- Sourcebook
of Criminal Justice Statistics Online - Data from
more than 100 sources about all aspects of criminal justice
in the United States, which are displayed in over 600 tables.
Updated regularly.
- Uniform
Crime Reports - Federal Bureau of Investigation's
compilation of statistical data, including the annual Crime
in the United States, a cooperative statistical effort
of over 17,000 city, county, and state law enforcement agencies,
Hate Crime Statistics, and Law Enforcement Officers
Killed and Assaulted.
Suggested Federal Government Agencies & Publications
Agencies | Databases
| Publications | Statistics
Note: Some links are using the Government
Printing Office's PURLs, or Persistent Uniform Resource Locators,
rather than direct links to the federal agencies. This improves
the links accuracy, in case the publication was moved to a
different URL. However, it does take an extra few seconds
to retrieve the website.
Federal Agencies
The federal agencies' websites are good starting points when
looking for general information on a relevant topic, or when
looking for specific information that you know the agency
handles. Virtually all of the websites have a site index or
a search engine, if you have difficulty navigating the site.
| Department
of Homeland Security - Newest and most sweeping departmental
reorganization since 1947, this department's first priority
is to protect the nation against further terrorist attacks.
Component agencies will analyze threats and intelligence,
guard our borders and airports, protect our critical infrastructure,
and coordinate the response of our nation for future emergencies.
Major agencies that were or will be put under this umbrella
include Customs & Border Protection ,
Citizenship & Immigration Services (formerly INS) , Transportation
Security Administration, FEMA,
Secret
Service, and
Coast Guard. |
| Justice
Department - Main agency for criminal justice. Enforces
the law and defends the interests of the United States
according to the law. Provides Federal leadership in preventing
and controlling crime, seeking just punishment for those
guilty of unlawful behavior, administering and enforcing
the Nation's immigration laws fairly and effectively,
and ensuring fair and impartial administration of justice
for all Americans. |
|
Important Sub-Agencies
|
| Bureau
of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms & Explosives - Law
enforcement agency within the Justice Department. (Used
to be under Treasury.) Enforces the Federal laws and regulations
relating to alcohol, tobacco products, firearms, explosives,
and arson. |
| Drug
Enforcement Administration - Enforces the controlled
substances laws and regulations of the United States and
brings to the criminal and civil justice system of the
United States, or any other competent jurisdiction, those
organizations and principal members of organizations involved
in the growing, manufacture, or distribution of controlled
substances appearing in or destined for illicit traffic
in the United States. Recommends and supports non-enforcement
programs aimed at reducing the availability of illicit
controlled substances on the domestic and international
markets. |
| Federal
Bureau of Investigations - Principal investigative
arm of the Justice Department. Upholds the law through
the investigation of violations of federal criminal law.
Protects the United States from foreign intelligence and
terrorist activities. Provides leadership and law enforcement
assistance to federal, state, local, and international
agencies. |
| Office
of Justice Programs - Provided federal leadership
in developing the nation's capacity to prevent and control
crime, improve the criminal and juvenile justice systems,
increase knowledge about crime and related issues, and
assist crime victims. Composed of a variety of bureaus
and offices, including the Bureau
of Justice Assistance, the Bureau
of Justice Statistics, the National
Institute of Justice, the Office
of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention, and
the Office for
Victims of Crime. |
Databases
| National
Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database
- Contains summaries of more than 160,000 criminal justice
publications, including Federal, State, and local government
reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and
unpublished research. May also search a database of 1500
full text reports. |
Selected Publications
Statistics
| Bureau
of Justice Statistics - Main agency that collects
and disseminates statistics for the Department of Justice.
Has a variety of data on their website. |
| Sourcebook
of Criminal Justice Statistics Online - Data from
more than 100 sources about all aspects of criminal justice
in the United States, which are displayed in over 600
tables. Updated regularly. |
| Uniform
Crime Reports - Federal Bureau of Investigation's
compilation of statistical data, including the annual
Crime in the United States, a cooperative statistical
effort of over 17,000 city, county, and state law enforcement
agencies, Hate Crime Statistics, and Law Enforcement
Officers Killed and Assaulted. |
Suggested Illinois Government Agencies & Publications
Agencies, Board &
Commissions | Publications &
Statistics
Agencies, Boards & Commissions
The state agencies' websites are good starting points when
looking for general information on a relevant topic, or when
looking for specific information that you know the agency
handles. Most of the websites have a site index or a search
engine, if you have difficulty navigating the site.
| Attorney
General - Chief legal officer; leads the statewide
fight against crime and violence. Staff assists local
state's attorneys in the prosecution of major crimes,
provides legal representation to all elected state officials
and the departments and agencies of state government,
and acts to guard the interests of the people of Illinois. |
| Department
of Corrections - Protects the public from criminal
offenders through a system of incarceration and supervision
which securely segregates offenders from society, assures
offenders of their constitutional rights and maintains
programs to enhance the success of offenders' reentry
into society. |
| Governor's
Commission on Discrimination & Hate Crimes - Created
to foster education efforts and help implement policies
and state laws that battle violence and acts of discrimination
which are based on ethnicity, religion, skin color, gender,
disability or sexual orientation. |
| Illinois
Criminal Justice Information Authority - Provides
access to the latest criminal justice news and information
on three major areas of operation: research, information
systems, and federal and state grants. |
| Illinois
Law Enforcement Training & Standards Board - Mandated
to promote and maintain a high level of professional standards
for law enforcement and correctional officers. Its purpose
is to promote and protect citizen health, safety and welfare
by encouraging municipalities, counties, park districts,
State-controlled universities, colleges, public community
colleges, and other local governmental agencies of this
state and participating State agencies in their efforts
to upgrade and maintain a high level of training and standards
for law enforcement personnel. |
| Illinois
State Police - Main state-level law enforcement agency.
Promotes the safety of the motoring public; combats the
illegal use of guns and drugs; maintains forensic testing
capabilities statewide; assesses the availability of high-tech
equipment and develop a plan to access this technology
and share it with local law enforcement agencies; and
maintains systems to collect and share criminal justice
data to aid in fighting crime. |
Selected Publications & Statistics
|