University of Illinois at Springfield UIS Home Page Search UIS
Norris L Brookens Library
 


 

Library Research for COM 504: Introduction to Graduate Study in Communication

Liaison librarian:

Sam Wood
E-mail: swood4@uis.edu
Phone: 206-7115
238 Brookens Library

Plan your research well in advance. You might want to take advantage of the University of Minnesota’s Assignment Calculator. Although you will not have access to the University of Minnesota’s resources, the calculator will give you an idea of when you should plan to complete particular tasks.

Plan ahead so that you can take full advantage of InterLibrary Loan and I-Share Universal Borrowing. ILL may take up to three weeks.

When using a journal database where the full text of the article you want is not provided electronically in that database, use the Find It! Button or link to discover if Brookens Library has access to the article electronically or if we subscribe to the journal in print.

Finding Books | Magazine & Journal Articles | Citations

Finding Books

UIS's PrairieCat
This catalog gives you access to information about the holdings of Brookens library. It includes government documents, both print and electronic. If we do not have the item you're looking for, make sure to repeat your search in the I-Share Catalog. You can then use the request feature to order items from other I-Share libraries.

WorldCat
As the name implies, this is a worldwide catalog. It uses the same bibliographic record type as PrairieCat, but it searches libraries all over the world. You may use the ILL link to order materials that are not owned by I-Share libraries.

Magazine and Journal Articles

How do you know if the journal is scholarly? Why does it matter? Check out "Scholarly vs. Popular Journals" from Carleton College.

Communications Databases

Other Subject-Specific Databases/Indexes

General Databases

Journal articles:

Full text or some full text:

Indexing only:

Google Scholar
This search engine is still in beta testing, and is limited in range, but it can give you citations and sometimes links to full text for articles in scholarly journals and conference papers. Although conference presentations have not been through the scholarly review process, the bibliographies of these papers may prove useful. Use the "UIS Print" link to see if we hold the journal here at UIS in either print or electronic format.

Citation index

  • Web of Science
    This resource is commonly used to find out who has been citing an article or work. This knowledge is important because seeing how often an item is cited can tell you about how important it is and how well-respected it is.

Dissertations

  • Proquest Dissertations and Theses
    Even though dissertations are not usually widely available, our ILL department has been able to get them for patrons. Dissertations are often written on narrow topics, and they can also help you with bibliography.

Conference presentations

Citations

Always make a record of citation information for every source you use. You will be required to cite your sources in your work. Check with your professor to see what citation format you are to use. Use RefWorks to collect citation information, cite your sources in your work, and format your bibliography.

Text Only | About Us | Research | Need Help? | Quick Links | Site Index | Home


Last updated August 28, 2007 | Created by Library Web Committee - Comments? Questions? Please e-mail libweb@uis.edu
Brookens Library - University of Illinois at Springfield, One University Plaza, MS BRK 140, Springfield, Illinois 62703-5407