Library Resources for Business and Management
by Denise D. Green, Reference Librarian
Click here for PowerPoint and audio version of Library Research in Business and Management Lecture (note: need RealPlayer to open presentation)
Needed Information in Business Research
- Economic conditions and forecasts
- Industry overviews, forcasts and comparative data
- Company information with notes for all students and Peoria students
Economic Conditions and Forecasts
Industry Overviews, Forecasts & Comparative Data:
Businesses operating in the same industry form trade associations to collect data and
follow legislation and news on the industry.
Similarly many financial publishers and analysts collect info to recommend stock purchases or investments in
certain companies and industries.
Such organizations publish trade journals, reports and web sites and can often
be valuable sources of information on an industry.
To locate a trade association for your industry,
see: Encyclopedia of Associations online or at Info Desk (REF HS 17 .G333)
Search the following sources to locate articles from trade associations or industry analysis:
- ABI Inform -- indexing and some full text for magazines and journals, especially strong in management
- Business Source Elite -- full text articles from hundreds of business, management and accounting
magazines and journals
- LexisNexis - go to "Business news" then "trade and industry" subsection
- Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage - Select your industry from the drop down box under the “Industries” or Industry Survey link.
This publication covers approximately 50 industries and includes industry trends, key industry ratios and statistics, a comparative company analysis, and more. .
Popular Business Magazines and Newspapers
good sources for current events,
best practices, controversies, some company or industry info.
Industry Benchmark Ratios
- RMA Annual Statement Studies-
(Reserve Desk Level 2 Brookens Library REF HF5681 .B2 R6)
Composite data on over 375 industries. Arranged by NAICS code; provides 5 years of data.
- Almanac of Business and Financial Ratios-
(Reserve Desk Level 2 Brookens Library REF HF5681 .R25A44)
Composite data on many industries. Arranged by SIC code.
Company Information; Part 1: Searching for News Articles on Companies
- Use ABI Inform or Business Source Elite to locate current articles on particular companies.
- Use the Advanced Search feature in both databases,
and select company or organization from the drop down box to limit your search to company name.
- LexisNexis also provides current news articles on companies.
Select the Business option on the main menu and then Business News.
Next, select business & finance as your news source and select company name
from the search terms drop down box.
Company Information; Part 2: Searching for Financials, Comparative Data or Market Share
Notes for All Students and for Peoria Students :
To locate a particular journal or magazine, use:
- Journals @ UIS --
tool for locating any periodical we have access to, either online or in print.
To request an article that we don't have, use:
To Locate a Particular Book, Government Document or Film, Use:
- PrairieCat (UIS Holdings), or
- I-Share Catalog; you can request titles to be sent to this library
- Also I-Share Catalog;
your link to the Illinois wide I-share library catalog including Millikin, ISU, Bradley,
SIU-E and Illinois Central College.
- Peoria students- all electronic resources described in this guide
are available off campus with your UIS NetID and its password.
Also most of the reference books listed are at Bradley University Library or Illinois Central College Library.
Your UIS I-card is your library card at those two libraries that with UIS are part of the CARLI library consortium.
UIS students can use and borrow books from both Bradley and ICC.
More Questions??
Phone the reference desk at (217) 206-6633 to speak to a reference librarian.
Email me or another reference librarian at libref@uis.edu
Email me directly at dgree1@uis.edu
Denise D. Green, Library Instructional Services,
Brookens Library Room 234, 217-206-6644. Last updated October 1, 2006.
|