University of Illinois at Springfield UIS Home Page Search UIS
Norris L Brookens Library
[ ]


 

Help with America: History & Life

Demo! Click to view QuickTime Video Demonstration.

Demo! indicates there is a QuickTime video demonstration of the database. If you do not have Apple QuickTime on your computer, go to http://www.apple.com/quicktime/download/ to download the free player.

Interface ABC-CLIO

Other databases that share interface Historical Abstracts (world history)

Types of searches

  • Simple search - keyword Boolean logic
  • Advanced search - keyword Boolean logic and field searching, with all the limiters; recommended
  • Browse subject headings - click on the blue magnifying glass next to the field labeled Subject to view an alphabetical list of subject headings, then you can mark the ones you want and click the Paste button
Truncation symbol asterisk *
Output methods print, save to a disk, and e-mail. "Tag" the citations you want, then click on the button labeled Output Options on the left side of the screen. If the article is available full text in JSTOR, have to print or download it one at a time, using JSTOR's interface.

Quirks

  • If you see Link to full text in ProjectMUSE, the link won't work because UIS doesn't subscribe to that database. (We do subscribe to JSTOR, so those links DO work, and to get the JSTOR links, we had to turn on ProjectMUSE as well.)
  • If you want only articles, do an Advanced Search and type in article in the box labeled Document Type. Database indexes books, book reviews, and dissertations as well as journal articles.

About Us | Research | Need Help? | Quick Links | Site Index | Home


Last updated May 25, 2006 | Created by Library Web Committee - Comments? Questions? Please e-mail libweb@uis.edu
Brookens Library - University of Illinois at Springfield, One University Plaza, MS BRK 140, Springfield, Illinois 62703-5407