University of Illinois at Springfield UIS Home Page Search UIS
Norris L Brookens Library
[ ]


 

Help with ABI-INFORM

Demo! Click to view QuickTime Video Demonstration.

Demo! indicates there is a QuickTime video demonstration of the database. If you do not have Apple QuickTime on your computer, go to http://www.apple.com/quicktime/download/ to download the free player.

Interface FirstSearch

Other databases that share interface ArticleFirst, Biological & Agricultural Index, CWI Contemporary Women's Issues, Dissertations Abstracts, ECO, EconLit, ERIC, GEOBASE, GPO Index, MEDLINE, PapersFirst, PerAbs Periodical Abstracts, ProceedingsFirst, UnionLists, WilsonSelectPlus, WorldAlmanac, and WorldCat

Types of searches 

  • Basic - Boolean logic keyword searching
  • Advanced - field keyword searching, plus access to all the limiters; recommended
  • Expert - command line searching, can use all Boolean operators like W and N.
  • Subject headings are present, but difficult to browse
Truncation symbol asterisk *, but severe restrictions on use (will bring up error message if brings up too many results); use + at end to look for singular and plural form of words
Output methods print, save to a disk, and e-mail. Can mark records, then click Marked records to view and print/e-mail. To print/e-mail full text articles, must be viewing the particular record.

Quirks

  • Can search up to 3 databases at once -- click on List All to see all the databases, and click on the ones you want to search. Also, if you go to the Suggest Best, you can type in a simple search and it will tell you how many times it occurs in the databases within the topic area (general, humanities, etc.)
  • It's very easy to switch databases. When you refine your search, you can simply choose another database in the first box labeled Search in.
  • Put phrases in quotation marks - if you don't, the system assumes an AND between words.
  • If you find an item you want, FirstSearch tells you if the UIS library has ever subscribed to it by putting an UNIV OF ILLINOIS AT SPRINGFIELD in the record. But FirstSearch doesn't know what years the library carries, nor the call number, so you'll have to look up the name of the periodical.
  • If the UIS library doesn't own the periodical, nor is it available full text in some other database, you can submit an Interlibrary Loan request within FirstSearch. When looking at the full record for the item, click on the ILL button at the top or bottom of the record, and fill out the form.

About Us | Research | Need Help? | Quick Links | Site Index | Home


Last updated May 25, 2006 | Created by Library Web Committee - Comments? Questions? Please e-mail libweb@uis.edu
Brookens Library - University of Illinois at Springfield, One University Plaza, MS BRK 140, Springfield, Illinois 62703-5407